We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the tuna melt sandwich!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Javas

Cafe Javas
Oasis Mall, Kampala, Uganda
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 196 Restaurants in Kampala
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Try the tuna melt sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

For my travel and lifestyle blog I went to Kampala to scout the best restaurants, bars, shops and things to do. This place is great for breakfst, just a coffee or lunch. I love their passion fruit juice too! There's only one thing I eat here every day when in Kampala: the Tuna Melt sandwich. It's delicious! For me as a girl I ordered without any sided since the sandwiched are huge! I will post more on Kampala on my blog soon. Or just read my other reviews on Tripadvisor about Kampala and its restaurants.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    120
    33
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Cafe Javas is one of my favorite places to get some tastes of home. They have great service with delicious food. Their milkshakes are the best I've had in Kampala. I love their teriyaki wrap so much that every time I try to order something else, I just keep going back to it. They used to have some great frozen yogurt but don't have it right now. My only bummer? They make you pay for wi-fi. All in all, it's a great place to escape the insanity that is Kampala, relax and enjoy some great food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Still a good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

A busy place for a great lunch. Various menu items to fit most budgets and palates. Good service. Hard to find a seat for a larger group, esp during the lunch rush, but come in a little early and it is a nice meeting spot. Good for the family too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great cafe with generous serves!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The cafe is modelled along Starbucks style, but with Ugandan menus integrated. Customer service was excellent and serves were generous.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice cafe for quick bites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Café Javas are a chain of cafes in Kampala that serve nice snacks and decent lunches. Mostly a good place to visit for snack or lunch out of convenience as have good locations. Service is also always efficient. That said, not sure how Café Javas has become one of the top-rated restaurants on TripAdvisor, ahead of many very excellent sit-down restaurants in Kampala. In my opinion the food is nothing special, certainly not to be considered for more than a quick bite. My feeling is that previous reviewers which give this place a high rating for being "good for Uganda" have not ventured out very often for proper dinner in Kampala, and were mainly attracted to Javas because of their central locations and western appearance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Javas also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Cafe Javas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Javas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.