We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel of Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Course Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golf Course Hotel to your Saves list
Golf Course Hotel
Plot 64-86, Yusuf Lule Road | P.O.Box 22774, Kampala, Uganda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 77 Hotels in Kampala
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hotel of Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The Golf Course Hotel is one of choice in Kampala. There's a couple of hotels that are better, but way overpriced. Kampala doesnt have much choice but GCH will pkease you. First its a meeting place for most business travelkers in the region. Second it has the best location, close to two large shopping malls. So if you get bored you can stralll around. Third price is fair, although hotels in Kampala are a little, on the high side.

There are three restaurantsnto choose from, nothing to write home about but you can get by.

Room Tip: Suites most purposes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    63
    31
    10
    3
See reviews for
1
1
8
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The revolving restaurant is one of the outstanding features of the hotel that is smack in the centre of the city.
One can get a good bird’s eye view of the city and its environs from this vantage point situated at the roof top.
The location of the hotel is ideal if one is doing business within the city centre.
However the traffic is heavy during most parts of the day so getting round is difficult unless one plans on walking or using the rather precarious boda boda which are motor bike taxis.
The food is wholesome and the waiters are willing sometimes to prepare something that is not on the menu. The hotel is adjacent to a large shopping mall and so feels larger than it actually is.
The beds are large and comfortable and the rooms relative spacious.
The lobby is a bit cramped and there is not much outdoor space unless one is sitting at the restaurants or bars that have small individual terraces that extend out over the pool for a secluded effect for the bar patrons, however the pool is in full view of the patrons as it winds round the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: The suites are spacious and over look the road as well as the golf course. Some rooms overlook the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Slept here for two nights during a business trip and I have nothing to complain about it.
The staff is friendly and ready to help, very nice room, good restaurant and good breakfast. For the money we paid is a very good place where to go in Kampala.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in February 2014. Its well located near the central business district and right next to 2 big malls.

The meals are reasonably good - i especially loved their breakfasts. There are 4 restaurants at this hotel which was a nice touch.

The rooms are very large but you can easily see the age on the carpets and the bathroom but it a very functional hotel especially if you are a business traveller. My room faced the busy Yusuf Lule Road and the sound of cars in the night and early morning can be a bit unsettling.

My check-in and check-out process was fairly efficient but can still be improved.

Overall, its a good functional hotel and will stay here again next time am in Kampala on business.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I just spent almost a week at the Golf Course Hotel and think that it's a very good option when staying in Kampala. That being said, I had to change rooms because the first room had an internal door lock that didn't work and windows that wouldn't shut properly. This was great if you are a bug but not so great if you wish to sleep undisturbed by them. It also took me a very lonnng time to check out. The folks at the front desk seemed to be very disorganized and un-informed about everything from paying by credit card in the local currency to the actual charges on the bill. Those points aside, it was nice that the hotel had several restaurant options; is close to the central business district; is right next to two malls; and was fantastic about helping to locate transportation. I wound up using Kusain Kawesa as my driver for the week. I would highly recommend him. He is located at the hotel and can also be reached on his mobile at +256 705 052 350. I also really liked the room that I was changed to as it overlooked the golf course. It was great to see the cranes flying/walking around. Not something you see everyday (at least where I live). I would easily stay here on my next visit to Kampala.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the golf course are quieter than those facing the road. The rooms are pretty large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I regularly stay in this hotel Very comfortable hotel with very good ambiance, clean rooms. Room size is very big. Clean toilets. House Keeping is xcelent. Food is good. Best parts is – you can pay visit to the casino & shopping mall very safely.

Room Tip: Any Golf Course View Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Enjoyed my stay...not too bad. Like the fact that some rooms have a proper shower. Get a golf course facing room even though it isn't much of a view. The rooms not facing the golf course face a very busy road. The carpets and furniture are really dated and should be changed.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.5 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#18 of 77 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#20 of 77 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#26 of 77 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Metropole Hotel Kampala
Metropole Hotel Kampala
#33 of 77 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Urban by CityBlue, Kampala, Uganda
2.1 mi away
Kabira Country Club
Kabira Country Club
#3 of 77 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Course Hotel

Address: Plot 64-86, Yusuf Lule Road | P.O.Box 22774, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 77 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Course Hotel is a World class luxurious Hotel offering you a true definition of comfort, hospitality and serving you right from our hearts.With our location in the most serene environment; adjacent to the Uganda Golf Club, you are assured of an ever green environment and freshness and ambience. Golf course Hotel is designed to offer you the best of comfort with our spacious rooms, making Golf Course Hotel an ideal destination for discerning travellers from all over the world. Our professional and skilled staff ensures that every person is a highly treasured guestThe Hotel is conveniently located within a 45 minutes’ drive from Entebbe International Airport and only 5 minutes from the Kampala city center.Our location is perfect and convenient for honeymooners, business travelers, tourists, and those who wish to have a memorable visit to the ‘Pearl of Africa’, Uganda. We have Eight (8) Categories of Rooms for you to choose from: Deluxe, Executive, Family Suite, Business Suite, Honeymoon Suite, 6 Holiday Apartments and 3 Executive Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Course Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.