We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central position - older hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Course Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golf Course Hotel
Plot 64-86, Yusuf Lule Road | P.O.Box 22774, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 58 hotels in Kampala
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Central position - older hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Enjoyed staying at the hotel. As the name states the hotel overlooks the gold course, providing for a very pleasant location to take breakfast. Rooms are large, a bit dated, but generally quite good. Gym is in the adjacent shopping centre, certainly not the greatest, lots of broken machines, but at least enough working for a workout. Staff are friendly & helpful, although check-in & out is quite a time consuming exercise. The Hotel can arrange for shuttles to and from the airport, which assists. Kampala itself has shocking traffic, so if you need to be in central Kampala this is a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    41
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
7
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel is well located with 2 malls next to it and was fairly close to my business meetings. Breakfast is good with plenty of options and variety from day to day. Rooms are in good condition with reliable wifi. There are several restaurant options for meals so it doesn't get monotonous. The Revolving Restaurant is a must-visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the golf course to avoid the noise coming from the road. Also the view on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The good is that the rooms are very spacious and niclely fitted out in all areas. The breakfast is very nice with plenty of options. Very convenient for the 2 major shopping centres, which are next door.
The bad are the hotel taxis which should treat their own clients fairly but I was asked for 5 times the regular fair to travel just round the corner. In the end I walked with my trolley suitcase. When I complained they told me there would be an enquiry and they would inform me, but that never happened.
The ugly is payment of the bill. The invoice I received was in US Dollars but when I tried to setlle the bill, in cash,they rejected half of my bills as not being acceptable!! I got the notes from The Central Bank of a European country but they are not good enough for Uganda. One was deemed too old and others had stamps on. I told them that was all I had as my expenses were sent country by country so if they didn't accept them then tough. They tried to say the local banks will not take them but I had changed many of these 'bad' notes at the Bureau De Change in the shopping centre next door and they have to use the same banks.In then end they took them but they should warn you and state which notes they accept.

Room Tip: Do not get rooms in the middle of the floors as they have a running machine and excercise bike outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Nice hotel to stay for business or leisure, quite a convenient location to stay within the city. Food at restaurant is also ok. Ask for rooms on 4th floor on left hand side. No to lemon juice as they make it very sour. 5 days stay costed about close to 1K USD. Precautionary travel, take medcines for malaria etc

Room Tip: Room on 4th floor, roadside are bit noisy if ur sesitive to sounds avoid them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was in Kampala on business for 7 days in mid May, and having stayed at this hotel in the past, decided to do so again. I had previously had a good experience at the hotel, and had a relatively high opinion of it, but this visit changed that.

For the first few days of my trip everything was fine, however on the fourth or fifth day, I saw two cockroaches in my room. I reported this to the hotel, which sent a maid to spray the room. She said that the room might need to be fumigated, and left me the spray can in the meantime. They were to get back to me about the situation, but never did. I was out during the days on business, but the following evening I found more cockroaches. I checked out the following day, and had probably killed about 10 roaches in my room before I left the hotel.

When I checked out, I told the front desk about all of this. They offered apologies, but did not explain why nothing further had been done and made no effort whatsoever to provide any sort of recompense or other acknowledgement of the problem. The manager was apparently not in or available to speak to me when I was checking out, so I asked the front desk staff to alert him to this situation and have him contact me via the information they had on file for me. In particular, I told the staff that they, and the manager should consider whether they believed this situation was handled properly, and whether they thought that under the circumstances it was appropriate that nothing further should be done. I never heard back from them, so apparently they and the hotel could care less. It looks like after paying lip service with their half hearted apologies, they simply decided to ignore the whole thing. I wonder if the next person in the room had to similarly deal with the infestation.

Funny, prior to this trip, I had always had a good experience with this hotel, and I've usually found the staff quite helpful. Obviously this trip has changed my opinion, and neither I nor my colleagues will be staying there in the future.

D. Thorne

Room Tip: Hope your room doesn't have cockroaches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Nice hotel to stay if you're in Kampala. The breakfast is also very nice. Rooms are modern and very comfortable. Their atrium and golf course view is also very elegant. Bathrooms are very neat as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clevedon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and although you can find fault - service, food, internet quality, overall it does provide you with a good working environment and far cheaper than many hotels in the city.

I have always asked for a room over looking the golf course and closer to the lifts and so the internet is a little stronger here and you don't get traffic noise.

Food passable for breakfast and the Silver Spur OK for a snack type of meal....

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Course Hotel

Address: Plot 64-86, Yusuf Lule Road | P.O.Box 22774, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 58 hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Course Hotel is a World class luxurious Hotel offering you a true definition of comfort, hospitality and serving you right from our hearts.With our location in the most serene environment; adjacent to the Uganda Golf Club, you are assured of an ever green environment and freshness and ambience. Golf course Hotel is designed to offer you the best of comfort with our spacious rooms, making Golf Course Hotel an ideal destination for discerning travellers from all over the world. Our professional and skilled staff ensures that every person is a highly treasured guestThe Hotel is conveniently located within a 45 minutes’ drive from Entebbe International Airport and only 5 minutes from the Kampala city center.Our location is perfect and convenient for honeymooners, business travelers, tourists, and those who wish to have a memorable visit to the ‘Pearl of Africa’, Uganda. We have Eight (8) Categories of Rooms for you to choose from: Deluxe, Executive, Family Suite, Business Suite, Honeymoon Suite, 6 Holiday Apartments and 3 Executive Villas. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Course Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Golf Course Hotel to your Saves list