We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Minute South

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
One Minute South
Save
You added One Minute South to your Saves list
M7 | Bulago Island, Kampala PO18 9LQ, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
“A little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This house is amazing: so many lovely features it is hard to know where to start. The art which abounds is just wonderful: everywhere you look in the main house there are delightful pieces of unusual art. The food/cook is superb - either vegetarian or non veg - he is excellent at both. The bedrooms in the main house are just lovely. The pool area, while small, is also delightful. The gardens are wonderful too - the walk up from the boat to the house is so beautiful. The beach is a great place for a bonfire though I would not swim there with the crocodile who swims around! (Not sure if he is still there!) The bird life is fabulous - both at the house and when walking around the island. Going for walks is great and you can even cycle around the island! The staff were great - though on the noisy side at times. They will set up bbqs and music for you and bonfires.
I just loved everything about this place and would advise anyone who likes some thing a little different; quiet; birds; art; etc.
When we were there there were a few problems in the second/smaller house/annex but the owner assured me it was being sorted out. Nothing to stop you going though.

Room Tip: The main house rooms are very lovely - the second house/annex is not as nice. The staff can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We rented One Minute South on Bulago island for a weekend trip.
There were 14 of us and the property is split into two buildings only 30 metres apart.

With a stunning view from the main house, plunge swimming pool over looking the lake, and private beach (watch out for the crocs!) you couldn't have a more ideal location for a long weekend away.

The owner organised a chef to cook us 3 meals a day for our 3 night stay which was Bliss - dinners in the dining room overlooking the lake or incredible evening BBQs on the beach complete with fire and music.

Wonderful place to stay for the weekend, and if you are a large party - very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed with a group of friends from the UK and USA at One Minute South and we can't speak highly enough of the place. The house is absolutely gorgeous, full of beautiful artwork and personal touches, you can really tell that the owner has put her heart and soul in to the place. The island itself is gorgeous, we took a walk around one afternoon and saw lots of birds and got some great pictures (one of us is a bit of a bird enthusiast) apparently some really rare breeds. The managers came and met us with a cool box so that we could sit and watch the sunset from the lookout point at the top of the hill. That was a really nice touch and a nice ending to a lovely day. We even met some of the island residents out having a sun-downer too. All the staff we friendly and always on hand to take care of our every need without being intrusive. The food was great, in fact our only complaint was that we ate so well during our stay that several of us think we'll need to go on a diet now!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The place is great, the chef is fantastic, as are the workers. We did have one problem however: The owner, Alison, kept trying to introduce new charges or claim that we owed her money when we didn't. She and her manager sent over ten emails demanding money that was not owed. She even showed up one day and demanded money. We ignored her until it was a bit too much and then we confronted her. She apologised and retracted her claims. Plain bad manners really.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneMinuteSouthAli, Owner at One Minute South, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
This family group of 12+ guests paid for their accommodation months before their Christmas visit and One Minute South requested nothing more. The payment issue was with the chef and his catering company who had made an alternative arrangement to the normal full board basis and had verbally agreed to the terms with the host of the group.
The chef asked Alison to follow up this payment on his behalf so she emailed the host. She was immediately told this was incorrect and that everything had been settled with the chef so Alison offered her apologies and the matter was resolved. There were certainly no more emails or any doorstep visits. Alison has had no contact with this group since their stay.
Please accept our apologies for any misunderstanding caused.
Kind regards
Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uganda
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

One minute South is one of the most beautiful places in Uganda. Very clean, hospitable people, and very beautiful. The house is large, beautiful wooden artifacts, and well designed decor.
The staff are hospitable and the chef provides excellent food. It is good place for the honey moon for those who are getting married. It is also a nice place for relaxing.
It is a secure place to stay and also make your movements around the island. It is a peaceful, quiet, serene and clean place. This is a place i would definitely want to go back to.
However, i recommend a website for this place for better marketing,
Lovely place and lovely people. I enjoyed my trip, it needs a week or more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

For the short length of my stay at this place, which I visited with a few friends we couldn't stop talking about how special it was. Full of beautiful wooden artifacts and very original design and decour, it was actually a shame we were there for such a short time. The rooms were very comfortable, the swimming pool small but sits on the edge of small hill overlooking the lake and the little hammock right by the beach underneath. The staff were very helpful and food lovely, they even prepared bonfire for us after dinner and made sure the place was clean all the time.
I would highly recommend this place and would certainly consider going back there myself for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The highlight of my holiday to Uganda and Kenya, everyone visiting Uganda should certainly spend at least 2 nights on this beautiful secluded island ideal for family/couples/friends getaways and a touch of luxury. The island itself is in easy reach of Kampala and definitely worth the trip.

The house is large and stylishly decorated with several unique touches which takes it away from the feeling of a hotel. The staff were polite, accommodating and discreet making it feel as though we had the place completely to ourselves (without having to worry about cleaning up and preparing food). The food was plentiful and tasty.

The infinity pool, free standing bath with views over the lake, fire at night, hammocks, wildlife and the character of the house makes this place special. My only regret is staying just 1 night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One Minute South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Minute South

Address: M7 | Bulago Island, Kampala PO18 9LQ, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Minute South offers a private island paradise that is truly unique. A 20 acre beach front residence on Bulago Island, Lake Victoria, Uganda. Accessible by boat or plane, within close proximity to Entebbe International Airport. Within the architectural beauty of our cliff top house we offer 7 luxurious bedrooms, all with beautiful views. Unique sunrise and sunset position. We offer sophisticated comfort and complete privacy with deserted golden beaches, cliff top infinity swimming pool and plenty of activities for all the family. Min.4/Max.14 guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Minute South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.