We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel International 2000 Limited

Hotel International 2000 Limited
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel International 2000 Limited
Save
You added Hotel International 2000 Limited to your Saves list
Tank Hill Road-Muyenga, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 69 Hotels in Kampala
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Conveniently located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have visited and stayed at the Hotel International a couple of times. The hotel is conveniently located along the Muyenga road. Further away from town (which is a good thing if you are looking for some sanity; some peace and quiet). It is easy to catch public transport to town from the hotel. No crowds, no hassles. The gardens are a great place to unwind, the food is very good, and the staff are really nice people.
The rooms would definitely be nicer if the old carpets were replaced.

While there is a business centre, it is more convenient to pick yourself an internet modem to be able to work anywhere in the gardens without much network interruption.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
2
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Hotel International was quite a nice relaxing place to stay. It has some nice gardens to relax in with a cold drink, and the food was very good (they have an indian chef who makes a fantastic chicken tikka).
They also do a very nice bbq.
The rooms could do with a bit of refurbishing as the carpet is getting a bit worn but the place was nice and clean with air conditioning and spacious.
The service is a bit slow, especially when it comes to bringing back change, but I found that to be common throughout Uganda.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I currently live in Kampala so don't need to stay at the hotel. However, I do almost daily use the hotel's gym, which is in reasonable enough shape and is available to non-guests at a good daily rate. (If you're interested, the gym at Garden City is much nicer, but also quite a bit more expensive and, if you're coming from the 'wrong' side of town not always easily accessible.)

The hotel's restaurant sprawls onto the lawns surrounding the hotel, oozes a pleasant atmosphere and serves very good Indian food at decent enough prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Mills, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

True this hotel is in a nice location but it is poorly managed: the manager seems to be in a bad mood all the time, not a very approachable fella by both the visitors and employees. Who designed this hotel? I had to go thru a maze of stairs to get to my room: watch out for dangerous unmarked steps allover the place!

The food is tasteless be it a snack, main meal or breakfast. Stay away from samosas, they taste funny in this place. Whoever thinks that Indian food in this place is the best has not tasted real Indian food: tough meats, nani is thick and soft like African chappati, nothing much for breakfast unless if you fancy noodles for breakfast!

The lights in the room a dim making it unconfortable. Cheap equipment so my toilet seat was broken, you have to play around with the shower head to make it work.....

Internet is choppy if you can get on!!

Employees are great and try their best to please.

The gym has reasonable equipment however the design makes it feel like a cave: no windows, no air-conditioner and the dirty thick carpet gives it a certain smell. Take your towel, what they give you smells like it is unwashed and has been used over and over.

The hotel was almost empty the 4 days I spent there so employees seemed like they were loitering around doing nothing.

It is sad to see that at such a location and land size that this hotel has nothing much to offer.

Room Tip: Sorry folks, I doubt if you can find a good room as we know it at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I never spend a night at this Hotel but every time I am in Uganda I go there at least once to have a good diner. It is a quiet, well maintained place with nice gardens and a really outstanding Indian kitchen at reasonable prices. I would even dare to say it is the best Indian food I have eaten outside India. Definitely worthwhile going there!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

The location is excellent, so quiet, the pool is reasonable. The quality/price very reasonable, good food just breakfast buffet is not so special. Anyway advisable quiet place to stay in Kampala

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel International 2000 Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International 2000 Limited

Address: Tank Hill Road-Muyenga, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 69 Hotels in Kampala
Number of rooms: 343

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel International 2000 Limited, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.