We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable gym, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel International 2000 Limited

Hotel International 2000 Limited
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel International 2000 Limited
Tank Hill Road-Muyenga, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 58 hotels in Kampala
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Reasonable gym, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I currently live in Kampala so don't need to stay at the hotel. However, I do almost daily use the hotel's gym, which is in reasonable enough shape and is available to non-guests at a good daily rate. (If you're interested, the gym at Garden City is much nicer, but also quite a bit more expensive and, if you're coming from the 'wrong' side of town not always easily accessible.)

The hotel's restaurant sprawls onto the lawns surrounding the hotel, oozes a pleasant atmosphere and serves very good Indian food at decent enough prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
2
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Mills, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

True this hotel is in a nice location but it is poorly managed: the manager seems to be in a bad mood all the time, not a very approachable fella by both the visitors and employees. Who designed this hotel? I had to go thru a maze of stairs to get to my room: watch out for dangerous unmarked steps allover the place!

The food is tasteless be it a snack, main meal or breakfast. Stay away from samosas, they taste funny in this place. Whoever thinks that Indian food in this place is the best has not tasted real Indian food: tough meats, nani is thick and soft like African chappati, nothing much for breakfast unless if you fancy noodles for breakfast!

The lights in the room a dim making it unconfortable. Cheap equipment so my toilet seat was broken, you have to play around with the shower head to make it work.....

Internet is choppy if you can get on!!

Employees are great and try their best to please.

The gym has reasonable equipment however the design makes it feel like a cave: no windows, no air-conditioner and the dirty thick carpet gives it a certain smell. Take your towel, what they give you smells like it is unwashed and has been used over and over.

The hotel was almost empty the 4 days I spent there so employees seemed like they were loitering around doing nothing.

It is sad to see that at such a location and land size that this hotel has nothing much to offer.

Room Tip: Sorry folks, I doubt if you can find a good room as we know it at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I never spend a night at this Hotel but every time I am in Uganda I go there at least once to have a good diner. It is a quiet, well maintained place with nice gardens and a really outstanding Indian kitchen at reasonable prices. I would even dare to say it is the best Indian food I have eaten outside India. Definitely worthwhile going there!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

The location is excellent, so quiet, the pool is reasonable. The quality/price very reasonable, good food just breakfast buffet is not so special. Anyway advisable quiet place to stay in Kampala

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel International 2000 Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International 2000 Limited

Address: Tank Hill Road-Muyenga, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 58 hotels in Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel International 2000 Limited, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel International 2000 Limited to your Saves list