We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Belgium in Uganda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Petit Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Petit Village to your Saves list
Hotel Le Petit Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ggaba Road | Next to American Embassy, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Kampala
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Little Belgium in Uganda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Beautifuly located next to the US embassy in Kampala. Within the complex a Belgian butcher, a Belgian baker and a Belgian restaurant. Rooms are contemporary African designed and very specious. Service with an attention to detail. A bit pricy, but it's all worth it. Breakfast outside on the porch of the restaurant is delightful. A menu like nothing else in the region. Delicious food and a great variety of good wines from France and South Africa. Friendly and efficient staff. Only negative is the extensive security search when entering the compound, but that's all thanks to the Westgate attack in Nairobi last month.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    31
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
28
8
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lutterworth
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well situated in Kampala and the standard is very good. Really nice clean rooms next to the pool. We had no problems with any aspect and the staff were extremely helpful sorting out some travel arrangements. Rita at the desk and her colleagues all did their jobs very well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

So this is a nice looking hotel and is well located with good staff and a nice pool. BUT....the roof of each of the rooms is thatched. This looks lovely but means that there is absolutely no sound proofing from the road outside so it's very noisy. In addition (and the main problem) is the outdoor nightclub on the other side of the road that you feel like you are in when you want to go to sleep. We only stayed in this place for 2 nights either side of a trip to see the gorillas and it finished quite late on Monday but not until 4am on Friday night when I finally managed to get to sleep.

So if you can sleep through World War 3 then this place is nice. If not, I recommend giving it a miss.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbarara, Uganda
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

on a recent trip from Mbarara to Kampala for a workshop, a group of us were booked into lepetit hotel as it was close to our workshop venue. i was immediately surprised at the quiet and serene atmosphere in the middle of the noisy Kampala hustle and bustle. The rooms were spacious and the staff were friendly and dedicated. compared to the internet at my office, their WIFI was really fast. Their restaurant is top notch and i recommend the next time you visit Kampala, Le Petit Village is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place is pretty good. Clean, elegant rooms and good attention to detail. Not outstanding, but good for Kampala. Good quality showers and comfortable beds. Boutique style if not in service.

Not central so you have to take taxis/motorbikes everywhere, and the traffic is terrible. The breakfast is average. The staff try to overcharge you for taxis.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back by the outside wall can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Le Petit Village was recommended to me by friends and I didn't regret it. I spent a wonderful time in this oasis of good taste, tranquility and African luxury in Kampala.
The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated and the personnel is very friendly and helpful. Last, but not least, the food at their restaurant is delicious!
I wish I could find more places like Le Petit Village in Africa...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL
hotel must be noisiest in Kamapala with a night club accross the street, + they have their own butchers shop (you can smell the rotting and rancid meat), they must do their laundy next to butchers where "Mango" flies feed - the hotel did not iron the linens and bath robe properly as I had 3-5 days later mango flies had hatched into my back and had to get two local operations to remove the maggots in my back -

food was great by kamapala stanadards but thats about it

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: no rooms are good even on the back all noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefkam, Manager at Hotel Le Petit Village, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Julia M,
We regret to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Unfortunately you did not bring any of these issues to our attention during your stay which would have allowed us to address them timely and to your satisfaction.
We would like to guarantee you that our hotel uses state of the art laundry and drying equipment and we apply hygiene standards to the highest levels. All laundry is disinfected and ironed and our quality assurance procedures in place do provide for additional checks which we are confident would have detected any foreign objects in the linen. Our hotel is renowned for is high standards in cleanliness and service. We are most certain that the cause of your contamination must have come from another source.
The delicatessen shop is a sales outlet that has no processing done on site and therefore any scent of meat is highly unlikely as the tenant is ISO22000 approved and uses equally the highest standards in food safety management. We have audited and we could not find any breach of the standards as well as the cold chain.
Quality Cuts is known in Uganda as the top brand of delicatessen and strive to keep the highest standards in food quality and service.
We thank you for your comments.
Emily Duyck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Petit Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Petit Village

Address: Ggaba Road | Next to American Embassy, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Petit Village 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your visit to Uganda will not be complete without a stay at Le Petit Village. From standard to executive suites, this thatch-roofed hotel meets the needs of a variety of discerning travelers.Le Petit Village's intimate rooms are decorated in Safari Chic rustic elegance, which makes it the perfect place to relax in understated luxury.All rooms are self contained, equipped with LCD TV screens, WIFI internet connections, phone lines and complimentary mini bars. Enjoy a good swim, chill out and enjoy a view of Kampala complete with natural and local sounds from your private terrace, or partake in gourmet dining at our famous Le Chateau Restaurant. One visit and you'll never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Petit Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Petit Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.