We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel Option in Kampala” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Petit Village

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Petit Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Petit Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ggaba Road | Next to American Embassy, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 58 hotels in Kampala
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel Option in Kampala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We recently stayed at Le Petit while visiting Kampala. This property is above average for Kampala. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. It is very quaint and peaceful, as opposed to the large hotel offerings in the city center area. There is a new disco across the street that played music unitl 5 am, but the hotel is working to shut that down. For now, it is a bit brutal. The best part is it's association with Le Petit Village. There is a great coffee shop, bakery, butchery and sandwhich shop all in the gated property. The restaurant, Le Chateau, is excellent. Great lunch and dinner. They serve a wonderful breakfast that is included as part of your stay. The restaurant is a good place to hang out and have drinks in the afternoon. The staff was nice, but you won't be hugging goodbye when you leave. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Kampala.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are better. You get a nice sitting balcony and a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    29
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
25
8
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Louis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I can only say that there is no other hotel like Le Petit village in Kampala! I recently stayed there for business and have thoroughly enjoyed it.
From the start all went well, staff was friendly and portrays the Ugandan friendly reception!

The hotel has a beautiful pool surrounded by the beautiful lush gardens and the creative african style buildings.
The hotel rooms are exceptionally beautiful and nicely designed to give you a very different experience and don't feel like your typical small cubicle hotel room! Other hotels will charge you big money for the same size of these rooms so this is really value for money!! The fridge is stocked with free drinks and is being replenished every day. The hotel goes out of their way by looking after small details that makes all the difference to give you comfortable stay!

Their restaurant is called Le Chateau and can truly be called one of the best restaurants in Kampala. Have a cowboy steak and you will see what I mean.

To my mind, this hotel is very unique in every aspect from design to comfort as well as the level of customer service with staff that are extremely helpful.
I would recommend it to travelers that appreciate class and enjoy staying at boutique hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I had high hopes for Le Petit Village but was disappointed and ended up leaving a day earlier than planned.

Pros:
-- Service was v. good. Everyone who works there was very pleasant and accommodating so kudos to the staff
-- Nice looking pool (although I didn't swim in it)
-- Junior suite is large with high ceilings

Cons:
-- Unreliable internet connectivity made doing work at times nearly impossible (I was in town for business)
-- Noise from the club across the road kept me up on two separate nights. One night I didn't sleep at all -- the music was still going at 5 a.m.
-- restaurant was not good (there was a long curly strand of hair in my dinner one night, and a roach crawling around the bread during breakfast one morning which I pointed out to the waitress. Gross.)
-- I didn't like the tub so close to the bed, was strange
-- I'm pretty sure my sheets weren't changed daily which is odd for a hotel with so few rooms (I could still see the makeup stain on my pillow from the day before)
-- complimentary champagne and turn down service is nice but being disrupted twice every evening was too much (there should be one person who both delivers the champagne and turns down the room so that guests are only disturbed once while they're trying to relax in the evenings if they're in their rooms)
-- overpriced for the quality

Gotta say, normally I can trust Tripadvisor reviews no question, but the high scores here have me scratching my head. The hotel tries, and again the staff is uniformly lovely, but I expected more

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is paradise in Kampala. Fantastic rooms and lovely staff. The swimming pool is the extra that makes it like a paradise. Has an enclosure with a bakery,a restaurant, a bouchery and a wine reseller makes it more than a super stay

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have been looking for a quiet place in Kampala for some time. Now we have found it. Lovely, clean flats and very friendly staff. The food is very good and even the air is cleaner than most places in Kampala. The only downside is that the toilet is in a kind of "glass cage" in the bedroom. There is absolutely no possibility for privacy, so only share a room with a person that you know very well and are not embarassed for in any situation!

Room Tip: Room nr 7 was nice and quiet with own terrace, while room nr 8 was upstairs and had a nicer terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perryville, Arkansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you want to stay in a "safari" type lodge within Kampala, this is the place to stay. Located near the US Embassy on Ggaba Road, this well run and unique hotel is a oasis in the city. Staff are low key and efficient, rooms are varied and interesting with no doors on the bathrooms! Each room is different. The hotel gives guests free drinks in the fridge, internet works great and the swimming pool is small but very nice. The restaurant is one of the best in Kampala and also maintains the safari type lodge theme. If you are tired of the standard hotel experience, I can recommend Le Petit highly...

Room Tip: Higher number rooms have better views! Each room is different and unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I ve been coming to the restaurant and butchery as far back as 2002 and the hotel continues the same homely feel and european standard. The design is beauitful both inside and out and if you have any of the higher up rooms you have a wonderful view over kampala at night.

The rooms are HUGE and because they are built as little bungalows around the premises, you don't feel like you are in just another busines hotel with 400 other weary travellers. After a long day at work, its a relief to come back home in the evening to le petit village.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Petit Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Petit Village

Address: Ggaba Road | Next to American Embassy, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Petit Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your visit to Uganda will not be complete without a stay at Le Petit Village. From standard to executive suites, this thatch-roofed hotel meets the needs of a variety of discerning travelers.Le Petit Village's intimate rooms are decorated in Safari Chic rustic elegance, which makes it the perfect place to relax in understated luxury.All rooms are self contained, equipped with LCD TV screens, WIFI internet connections, phone lines and complimentary mini bars. Enjoy a good swim, chill out and enjoy a view of Kampala complete with natural and local sounds from your private terrace, or partake in gourmet dining at our famous Le Chateau Restaurant. One visit and you'll never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Petit Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Petit Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.