We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real effort is being made” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Humura Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Humura Resorts to your Saves list
Humura Resorts
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Plot #3 Kitante Close, Kololo | P. O. Box 35521, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
Tanzania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A real effort is being made”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very clean rooms. Very nice lighting in the cafe; dinner can only be described as OUTSTANDING! Breakfast was cold however; there were no flamers under the food holders. A little bit noisy, but then again I had to sleep during the day. I feel some (only a few) of the staff could do with a course in professionalism (the waitress serving me was singing to herself! She had a nice voice, but...) I searched for other places to stay as I thought even the discounted rate of $115 was a little too much ($90 would be a great deal), but all the other places nearby are miles behind Humura. I did like the attitude of the management who seem to really want to improve and maintain this lovely place and thus expect great things in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    54
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
12
22
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
kampala
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a warm reception, good service, and comfortable rooms. There are facilities for tea in the room. If this were my usual pricerange, it would be my go-to hotel in Kampala. Recommended. Walking distance to restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Used to be a nice place, its now almost rotten. Needs some serious maintenance. Pool is disgustingly dirty i never saw anyone swimming in it. Location is good but really they must think about getting back up to the standards the advertise. Rooms sold at 150 are cheap. Would not pay more than 75 usd per night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humura, Manager at Humura Resorts, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Livione,

Humura always appreciates feedback from our guests as we use it to continuously improve the service we provide our guests whom we value. First, we would like to sincerely apologize that you stay was not ideal. We pride ourselves in indeed being a nice place and providing our guests with very good and personalized service. Second, we are responding to your review as we feel that the points you raise are not reflective of the majority of those who stay at Humura. Our pool is cleaned a minimum of once a day and during the rainy season, we may have to do extra shock treatments which initially cloud the water. Many of our guests enjoy swimming especially during the very hot weather. We look forward to serving you in the future and hope you consider returning on your next visit to Kampala!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Were there for four days. Started out good until we figured out there was a frog making a terrible noise all night. The breakfast was not good at all and they did not refill unless you asked them, tablecloths were always dirty. Very poor service in general expect for some of the ladies workin in the reception. The second day we had to change rooms which was fair enough since they let us have a very late check out. The new room was just as nice and we didn't here the frogs. However the sheets on the bed was not changed, it was curly and stained and had hairs on it, it took them a long time to come and change the sheets. The worst thing was what they did to our laundry, it took them 2 days and we had to call and ask for it several times, and when it finally came it was wet smelled like it had been lying wet for a while, and half of it was missing. When we finally got the other half it had cat piss stains on it. Although this is in theory a nice hotel it is not worth anything more than us 100 per night and they should seriously consider hiring some new staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humura, Manager at Humura Resorts, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Smidigkatt,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback which we value. We sincerely apologies that part of your stay was unpleasant, but would like to add that your comments are not typical of the ones we receive from guests. On your concern regarding laundry, because of the special care required of the clothes you provided us to launder, we needed to pay extra attention and so took more time to ensure the clothes remained in good repair. Your comment about cat urine is surprising! Our laundry is cleaned by a very reputable and professional company. Regarding the bed sheets, because of the short notice room move, unfortunately you were inadvertently moved to a room that was not ready, however, the housekeeping staff was immediately summoned to rectify the situation. On breakfast, we put a lot of time and effort into both our breakfast menu and set up and we continue to get great feedback on both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel is indeed located very conveniently and has a nice set up in a green and quiet garden. The interior of the rooms is as well very appealing. However, the service in the restaurant was slow and in some cases it looked like some of the staff was not very motivated to serve us (instead we had to interrupt one of them from playing solitaire after we had been waiting for a while). The food in the restaurant was not very convincing. Hot water was also not provided throughout the stay in the bathroom. Humura resort could be a really hot tipp, but only if the quality of the service and the food at the restaurant is improved significantly. And it is true, the Spa is still closed, although it still appears on the website.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humura, Manager at Humura Resorts, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear 970Sana,

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you found the setting of Humura appealing. We truly apologize that you found our restaurant service during your stay wanting. Using your feedback, we will strive to continue to improve our service. Regarding the hot water, we are an eco-friendly hotel and so use solar to heat our water. During your stay, there were a number of overcast days, guests were informed of the hot water shortage, and provided a complimentary drink to acknowledge the inconvenience related to the hot water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I was in Kampala for a few days to work, and Humura is definitely a breather from the chaos of downtown Kampala. Was a nice location just up Yusuf Lule boulevard (15-20 min walk along the golf course to work).
The resort was well maintained and the staff was very friendly and helpful (from initial email contact through the stay). Would definitely stay here again.
Only small comments would be to have more than one towel in the room, and to keep the wine list better stocked!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I spent last week at Humura Resorts in Kampala and it lived up to its name - a restful, calm and friendly place to call home while in the beautiful Ugandan capital. Early quiet mornings in your room will give the impression that you are miles away from an urban center; yet a stone-throw away from most of Kampala's restaurants, offices, and the main hospital. I very much enjoyed the interaction with the polite, responsive and friendly staff as well as the excellent food. I shall certainly be back at Humura, and would like to recommend it for your next visit to Kampala.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are more easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Humura Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humura Resorts

Address: Plot #3 Kitante Close, Kololo | P. O. Box 35521, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#4 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Humura Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Humura, meaning "state of relaxation and calm", is a city-based resort in a calm country atmosphere. This elegant 18 room resort within 5 minutes walking distance from the 18 hole Kampala Golf Club and an easy drive from Kampala’s key attractions, including major shopping malls, is a tranquil oasis amidst the bustle of the central city. Whether visiting the capital on business or pleasure, Humura’s picturesque garden, outdoor swimming pool, restaurant, bar and gym facilities combined with impeccable service will provide you with a complete escape and will allow you to experience Kampala at its best. A special Program for Children is also available at the Humura Resort. Pets, however, are not permitted on the hotel grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Humura Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humura Hotel Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humura Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.