We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEEDS IMPROVEMENT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Royale Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Imperial Royale Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Royale Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 7 Kintu Road | PO Box 4326, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 77 Hotels in Kampala
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“NEEDS IMPROVEMENT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Well a good place to stay in terms of rooms which are quite spacious, clean and well maintained. but need to work on breakfast options and lighting of hotel which are poor or not upto standard. I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and was served same spread every morning in buffet for breakfast. In terms of cost i would recommend this place but not in terms of food and and appearance.

Room Tip: Well all the rooms are same and there is no different spread for Executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    21
    15
    9
See reviews for
1
2
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Big rooms, but musty and no air conditioning. Food verges on being some of the worst I have ever tried and I have travelled fairly widely. Level of staff incompetence is amazingly bad even by African standards, would have stayed at the Serena next door except a friend got me a ridiculously good deal. But even so not staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel have proberly seen better days. The hotel is located nicely in the city center and is very big. I had the chance to stay only one night nice my first book hotel was overbooked.
The hotel is big and is the architecture is interesting with open hallways where you can see the other floors. Everything is dark and groomy, Black and fungus stain on the wall paper and the Whole hotel smells like fungis. The hotel could use a update in funiture and paint.
The bathroom was ok, but rest not ok.
The service was ok, but one person did not know what the other was doing so some misunderstading sometimes but they where helpfull.
Breakfast was below standard!
To be honest i will not stay here Again - but i will not scare others away, you just have to know about the standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curepipe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Overall, the hotel is fine. Well located and very big rooms...Very pleasant and helpful staff. Free wifi is available. Maintainance/renovation works, especially in the rooms, are overdue...and rooms look a bit old.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms for put wedding night and a few nights after. The room was very exotic and comfy and made our stay really amazing one.

It was all quiet and staff where so helpful, we were upgraded to a super deluxe by the manager when they we were newly weds...!
Thank you Imperial Royale

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2015
Dear Slylutar,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review!
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our accommodation, as well as the environment.
Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
242 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Imperial Royale is well located. I looks very posh and the rooms and the attrium are huge. The room itself is a bit grotty. The capets look old and don't smell fresh, the bathroom is big but not very modern. I stayed here one night for business, which is ok, but I would not like to stay here longer. Breakfast was not what you would expect from a hotel like this, little choice and average quality. On my return to Kampala I stayed in the Sheraton, which is in a different league and wins hands down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was a business trip of 20 days. Nothing could have been better than the location, pricing and facilities offered by this hotel.

The rooms were big, cleaned every day (with sheets and towels changed), Wifi access, mini locker and clean bathrooms. Each room has Tea/coffee making equipment and some (like my colleagues) also have a mini bar. Please request for on above the pool area, you get excellent wind/sun here.

Hotel has an adequate gym, lots of cardio equipment but only machines for weight training (suited me well for a short duration stay). Swimming pool is 18 mtrs, sufficient again for a short stay, cleaned daily. It has a sauna and steam center, though I never used it but my colleague did and he was quite satisfied.

There is a Western Union office in the same complex as the hotel (just outside) so you can change forex right there.

The food served in the buffet is mainly non-vegetarian with not much variety. Mainly beef and seasonal veggies. This is an everyday thing, I think they really lack creativity here. Veggies can have seasonal vegetables (though I am not sure how long you can keep up with boiled stuff) and potatoes.

I also recommend plantains (roasted bananas) and grilled Tilapia for fish eaters.

That's it ! Overall, very good hotel.

Room Tip: Take the ones above the pool area. And go for 814 if you can get it. Its the only one with a Balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.1 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 77 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#10 of 77 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
#22 of 77 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#19 of 77 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
2.4 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 77 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kabira Country Club
Kabira Country Club
#3 of 77 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Royale Hotel

Address: Plot 7 Kintu Road | PO Box 4326, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 77 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperial Royale Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Royale Hotel is a Conventional Centre because it has the Biggest Conference facility in Uganda. It's located in the central Business city of Kampala with easy and traffic free access to Government offices, Banks, Ngos, Diplomatic missions and shopping malls. The Hotel has 275 rooms, 22 Conference Halls with the Biggest hosting up to 2,000 guests under one roof. The Hotel also has guaranteed parking facility for 500 cars on 2 level underground parking. Imperial Royale HoteL was designated "The Media Hotel" during the Common Wealth Heads of Government meeting (CHOGM) in November 2007 in Kampala. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Royale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.