We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but rooms a bit old...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Royale Hotel

Save Saved
You added Imperial Royale Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Royale Hotel
Plot 7 Kintu Road | PO Box 4326, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 58 hotels in Kampala
Curepipe
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel but rooms a bit old...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Overall, the hotel is fine. Well located and very big rooms...Very pleasant and helpful staff. Free wifi is available. Maintainance/renovation works, especially in the rooms, are overdue...and rooms look a bit old.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
1
1
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms for put wedding night and a few nights after. The room was very exotic and comfy and made our stay really amazing one.

It was all quiet and staff where so helpful, we were upgraded to a super deluxe by the manager when they we were newly weds...!
Thank you Imperial Royale

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Imperial Royale is well located. I looks very posh and the rooms and the attrium are huge. The room itself is a bit grotty. The capets look old and don't smell fresh, the bathroom is big but not very modern. I stayed here one night for business, which is ok, but I would not like to stay here longer. Breakfast was not what you would expect from a hotel like this, little choice and average quality. On my return to Kampala I stayed in the Sheraton, which is in a different league and wins hands down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was a business trip of 20 days. Nothing could have been better than the location, pricing and facilities offered by this hotel.

The rooms were big, cleaned every day (with sheets and towels changed), Wifi access, mini locker and clean bathrooms. Each room has Tea/coffee making equipment and some (like my colleagues) also have a mini bar. Please request for on above the pool area, you get excellent wind/sun here.

Hotel has an adequate gym, lots of cardio equipment but only machines for weight training (suited me well for a short duration stay). Swimming pool is 18 mtrs, sufficient again for a short stay, cleaned daily. It has a sauna and steam center, though I never used it but my colleague did and he was quite satisfied.

There is a Western Union office in the same complex as the hotel (just outside) so you can change forex right there.

The food served in the buffet is mainly non-vegetarian with not much variety. Mainly beef and seasonal veggies. This is an everyday thing, I think they really lack creativity here. Veggies can have seasonal vegetables (though I am not sure how long you can keep up with boiled stuff) and potatoes.

I also recommend plantains (roasted bananas) and grilled Tilapia for fish eaters.

That's it ! Overall, very good hotel.

Room Tip: Take the ones above the pool area. And go for 814 if you can get it. Its the only one with a Balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you're a business traveller in Kampala, stay in the Sheraton or the Serena, and avoid the Imperial Royale at all costs.

The place is like a ghost-town - a cavernous hotel where no one seems to be staying, with the top five floors in darkness, half the lifts not working, and an empty bar and restaurant. In spite of the lack of guests, staff are still incompetent and unhelpful. The food is awful, the service is poor, and the Business Centre leaves a lot to be desired.

The one saving grace: the rooms are a good size, although a lot of the furniture is unnecessary and simply looks a bit tacky.

Terrible hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in late May. The place is pretty much as described by others. Very quiet at night because there are relatively few other guests, which can feel a bit weird until you get used to it. Busier during the day with meetings, conventions etc. But the rooms are large, the showers work, the beds are comfortable, the place is clean, the restaurant was OK and service was quite effective and helpful with pick up and drop off at the airport as requested. The wi-fi works if you find the right spot in the room. I got a special rate through Makerere University and so value for money was good. I wouldn't feel so positive paying $250 a night. Likely enough there are better places to stay in Kampala but I'm sure there are worse and this was fine for 3 nights. Between 3 and 4 stars

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uganda
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I enjoyed my stay in the hotel for a week. The rooms are huge and very comfortable. The hotel however is very big and has few people staying there. The staff are helpful but are some time slow. It was great being here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Royale Hotel

Address: Plot 7 Kintu Road | PO Box 4326, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 58 hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Royale Hotel is a Conventional Centre because it has the Biggest Conference facility in Uganda. It's located in the central Business city of Kampala with easy and traffic free access to Government offices, Banks, Ngos, Diplomatic missions and shopping malls. The Hotel has 275 rooms, 22 Conference Halls with the Biggest hosting up to 2,000 guests under one roof. The Hotel also has guaranteed parking facility for 500 cars on 2 level underground parking. Imperial Royale HoteL was designated "The Media Hotel" during the Common Wealth Heads of Government meeting (CHOGM) in November 2007 in Kampala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Imperial Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Royale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.