We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean business hotel with good facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Suites

Save Saved
You added Dolphin Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolphin Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princess Anne Drive, Plot 36, Kampala, Uganda   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offers
Ranked #25 of 58 hotels in Kampala
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean business hotel with good facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Dolphin Suites is a quiet hotel in a business district of Kampala. Many international NGOs have offices nearby and the area feels very safe, even at night.

The stay, which also included using the conference amenities, was mostly to my satisfaction. Wireless Internet has almost complete coverage of the hotel area and very good speed, considering. My room also had a wired connection available. The rooms are spotless and clean. My room, and I don't know if it goes for all of them, had a locked door to the adjoining room. This made sound to travel extremely easily, so hope that your next-door neighbor doesn't snore. And don't go here if you're on your honeymoon.

Very friendly bar/restaurant with a wide selection of dishes, including Indian and western. Breakfast is somewhat dull, though. Better coffee would have been nice.

An earlier reviewer complained about the somewhat rigid management, and I second that. At the time of my checkout their VISA-machine decided to call it quits – something they quickly turned into my problem. They refused to reimburse me for my costs for the taxi, as I had to go around to ATMs around Kampala to collect money. I was lucky to have time to spend as my flight left late, but please reserve some time for the process. Insisting to clear the bill a day in advance might not be a bad idea, to be on the safe side.

Another reviewer complained about the mosquitos, and even though I can confirm they're there, it is true for most of Kampala. Dolphin Suites are not an exception. Even so, they are not very malaria prone. Just take your prophylaxis and you’ll be fine. And I had no problem in my room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder Singh S, Manager at Dolphin Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Excellent small hotel outside city centre, very attentive staff, lovely open dining room/bar and good smallish pool. Room spotlessly clean, newly decorated with excellent shower. Food only average & unfortunately three tvs in dining area were nearly always on, sometimes with different channels & could only be turned down if other guests agreed. Laundry prices high, so I didn't bother.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder Singh S, Manager at Dolphin Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Good points:
Nice quiet neighbourhood. Bugolobi is an up-market neighbourhood with some super properties surrounding the hotel and is very quiet, away from the hustle and bustle and traffic madness of Kampala city centre. The staff were very friendly and service mostly very good. Food is not bad.

Negative points:
Despite other reviewers comments, the Dolphin does NOT have kitchenettes in the rooms.
Safes: We stayed in 3 different rooms during our 3 stays in the Dolphin over a 2 week period. One had no safe and the other 2 had a non-working safe.
Rooms are fitted with modern Sony flat screen TVs, but the installation of antenna and distribution system has not been done properly as most channels were un-watchable due to poor signal.
The manager has a habit of watching cricket until the early hours (2 or 3 a.m.) in room 25. Unfortunately sound carries at the dead of night and we complained. Have also suggested he buys a pair of headphones for his late night viewing!
The sheets are too small for the beds!
You need to allow at least 30 minutes to check out as the front desk staff are barely able to do simple addition.

Despite those negative points, we would stay there again. Hope the management reads this as the criticisms are meant to be constructive.

Room Tip: As far away from Room 25 as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder Singh S, Manager at Dolphin Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day!!!

We appreciate your effort to highlight our points where we do need to work on in order to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay.

In reference to your mentioned concern kindly be rest assured we will be looking into the said points in a most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to provide you with the level of service to which we pride ourselves upon, for which we certainly look forward to another opportunity to further our intent of giving you an astounding experience.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Has the potential to be nice, but service is slow, rooms somewhat dated and prices too high.

We also suffered having no hot water for 5 days out of 6. We complained to the management every day and were told a technician was fixing it. Clearly they were not.

There are many other hotels in this area of Kampala that offer a superior experience for less money.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder Singh S, Manager at Dolphin Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day!!!

We appreciate your effort to highlight our points where we do need to work on in order to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay.

In reference to your mentioned concern kindly be rest assured we will be looking into the said points in a most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to provide you with the level of service to which we pride ourselves upon, for which we certainly look forward to another opportunity to further our intent of giving you an astounding experience.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

Dolphin Suites is nestled in the quite neighbourhood of Bugolobi and is a modern and convenient place to stay. The swimming pool and the outdoor bar are surely my favourite places in the sprawling property. Managed by Frank Karake, a professional in the tourist industry, the Dolphin Suites are surely a recommended place to stay for tourists and business travellers to Uganda.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder Singh S, Manager at Dolphin Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2005

I want to recommend the Dolphin Suites. It is a place where you can make your self and family at home. The rooms are large clean and comfortable.Kitchenett's are nice for a quick snack to fix. The Pool is clean and easy to get to from any room.Up stairs you will find the gym for a good work out. I found the Staff to be very helpful at all times.You can have your Laundry done and it comes back always good and clean.There is a Internet office that is complete for any Business. I very much enjoyed the meals that are served daily.I would advise travelers to check out this out of the way place to stay when going to Kampala. The ony problem I encountered was that it is rather out of the way. But for the most part that was not a problem.The Dolphin has it's own transportation to take you into the city. Try this quaint place.I'm sure you will be made to feel at home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder Singh S, Manager at Dolphin Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Suites

Address: Princess Anne Drive, Plot 36, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 58 hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Dolphin Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.