We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Express Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Holiday Express Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Express Hotel
Luwum Street, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 62 Hotels in Kampala
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Located in the heart of Kampala, middle-price hotel. we had some problems. No water in the Bathroom, we had to go to another room to have the shower. Staff is kind. They were very kind of keeping for 1 day, our luggage 10 days after our stay, when we came back to Kampala to take the plane at night.

Room Tip: Ask for the new ones bedrooms, We had an old one :-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaiah K, Director of Sales at Holiday Express Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank your positive review. We appreciate your patronage and would love to host you again on your next visit to Kampala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
5
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Holiday express hotel was the last place we stayed, for one night, before we left Uganda. It had pretty nice rooms (definitely nicer than any other hotel we stayed at in Uganda), good staff who were helpful and knowledgeable and friendly. The restaurant wasn't able to serve several items on their menu, but the food we did manage to order was good. And they include breakfast each day which was delicious and very extensive. They also have decent wifi, which we enjoyed a lot. The location is right in the heart of Kampala which is handy during the day, but can be very loud (and non-stop) at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaiah K, Director of Sales at Holiday Express Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
It was great hosting you. We look forward to welcoming you again and please do recommend your family, friends or colleagues to us. We shall offer them your special rate and accord them our friendly and courteous service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Holiday Express Hotel and was very happy with my stay there. It was well located in Kampala and not too expensive. I had arranged airport pick-up with the hotel, and even after two flight cancellations/delays (and many last minute emails to the hotel) they still had a driver waiting for me when I finally arrived in Entebbe, two days late and at 1am. The trip from the airport to the hotel took about 45 minutes (no traffic at that time of night), and cost $35.
I opted for a single room with fan, rather than air con, and was happy with this – it wasn’t too hot and the fan was sufficient. The toilet in my room was not working when I arrived, so staff immediately moved me to a new room with no problems at all. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The reception desk is manned 24/7, as is the restaurant (I think). There’s free wifi available in the rooms (though it doesn’t always work in the higher levels) and breakfast is included in the price; available between 6-10am. Breakfast was basic but nice – cereal, fruit, toast, and boiled eggs.
My only complaint with the hotel was that you can still hear a lot of street noise (traffic, people yelling etc) even on the upper levels, and the curtains are light-coloured so the room gets light first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place is right in the heart of Kampala. We had room for one night from street side, and windows didn't block sound that much. I sleep well in noice and room had air conditioner so only complain is that in big double bed there's only one blanket to fight for.

We left early next morning for post bus, and were supposed to have breakfest ready early, but information about that never reached the kitchen and had just couple fruits and instant coffee ready in time.

Hotel is safe and well located. Midrange prices so for one night in Kampala I would take this hotel again. I don't see reasons to spend any more time in Kampala as it's bit chaotic, but still very friendly like hole Uganda is.

Room Tip: Not from the street side if you can't take the noise. If you can take the noice, the street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaiah K, Director of Sales at Holiday Express Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
2 ultra modern conference halls just unveiled! New spacious restaurant operational since 1st July '13! Rooftop open-air bar and coffee shop opening in October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable rooms (beds now with moquito nets), free wifi, friendly staff and a decent restaurant. Come prepared with ear plugs as the only reasonably quiet time is between 3am and 7am. A decent sleep can be had though if you're not a light sleeper. Also come with small change as the staff don't appreciate paying for cold drinks with large notes. Reception staff were very helpful in arranging day tours at short notice (night before). Come with reasonable expectations and you won't be too disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Loved this hotel. The price was accommodating for center of Kampala and location was right for me (a few blocks walking distance). Clean rooms, comfy enough bed, very friendly service. Restaurant stay open 24/7 food is great. Free internet, parking. The hotel staff were wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel is centrally located in Kampala within the city and has access to most shopping locations and offices. Stayed here several times over 4 years on business trips to Uganda. The hotel is reasonably priced, has clean rooms and the staff are excellent and give good service. The food is excellent. Due to the location there is the normal noise of a bustling city which kicks off early morning but there is reasonable sound proofing.

Room Tip: Select the new wing rooms which are better and have an Internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Express Hotel

Address: Luwum Street, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 62 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Express Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.