We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for Togo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cocobeach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cocobeach
Save
You added Hotel Cocobeach to your Saves list
Rue 9 | zone portuaire, Lome 12 502, Togo   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Lome
Lome, Togo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good place for Togo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here several times as we now live in Togo. By western standards it's not much. Rooms are as clean as a typical motel. The nicest room "suite" is more than we would pay and it's not that great but better than the others. Beach is disappearing everywhere in Togo so it's very small but relaxing. Food is okay and average price for dinning out in Lome. Owners are French and the wife is friendly most of the time but the Togolese staff are not as inviting and slow to help. Small but clean pool to relax in if you don't like the ocean-which is not so clean. My wife and I have learned not to expect much and keep it simple. We usually just lay under the huts on the beach and sleep.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
6
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

we are well travelled west African based family currently living in Accra. In many ways, this beach stay in Lome, was exactly what we were expecting and met our needs in terms of being in a francophone environment, enjoying a more French influenced cuisine.... On the positive side, the service at the bar and restaurant was lovely. The staff are attentive and very pleasant. the food was great too-- particularly the various fresh grilled fish and vegetables. Then I have to say that previous reviews have accurately described the beach: it is behind a port, and market, not far from the main national road ( nor from the boarder of ghana for that matter)..clearly not at all your ideal location for a relaxing beach resort, but somehow.. It still is, the port is in the background providing something interesting to gaze at from under your beach hut from time. also, the extended barricade, which we were told was formerly a wharf running some 10 meters off the coast, provides a perfect wall against the rough tides, allowing for enjoyable swimming.

On the down side, the rooms are not well kept, beds are questionable and bathrooms are dingy and not kept as clean as they could be. You should carefully inspect your room as some of the windows we found in our bungalow did not lock..and given the surrounding area and fact that there is no 24 hour reception service, this is not very reassuring. in terms of value, the rooms are very disappointing considering the price which is nearly as expensive as some of the higher end places!

The premises in general are quiet run down, giving you the impression that the place as certainly seen better days...as is the case for much of the "tourist infrastructure" of Lome.
I would definitely go back if I were to have to travel to Lome again. however, I would come to enjoy the beach and eat but would spend the night in a place with higher standards of hygiene and presentation of the guest rooms.

The pool is allot smaller than it appears on the internet.
considering all of the above, coco beach is a popular spot amongst lome residents. Did not see any other license plates coming from far like us...

Room Tip: Bungalows instead of the rooms?? The regular rooms looked even worse in terms of cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamako, Mali
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed here for three days in September 2013, taking advantage of a layover to check out Lome. I also review the restaurant which I think is very good, especially for fish dishes. The service is good as well as security. You stay here because you are right on the beach and a bit out of the hustle of central Lome.

I stayed in the new building with a room overlooking the ocean. It was very clean, relatively modern, and perfectly servicable but could use a little more imagination and tender loving care to make it better than "average": TV with 10 cable channels including CNN, a nice balcony but no chairs or other furniture on the balcony, a bed with dated "carpeted" bedframe and just sheets (what's that about?). Hot water & AC worked fine. No wifi in the rooms. No telephone in rooms. I think it the FCFA 50K is a little much for what you get.

The restaurant is very good for seafood. Check it out. (I reviewed it separately). Great dining with sea views and sea breeze. Pretty good breakfast and coffee for 5000 CFA. (expresso machine, yeah!)

The hotel has a private beach area which is quite nice, well appointed with thatch sun-shelters, palm trees, and beach chairs as well as a small pool. Also, because there is a sea-wall about 100 meters out, you can swim without fear of an undertow. The beach angle is pretty steep, so don't expect to go jogging. The hotel is actually still in Lome so there are shantytowns not far away on both sides as well as the port, so this is not a tropical paradise with palm trees as far as you can see. I enjoyed watching the line of cargo ships come in, though. Just know what to expect.

A great thing is the free shuttle to/from the airport with the CocoBeach bus. There is also a nice dalmation if you need a friend.

Room Tip: My room was in the new building on the second floor with ocean view. Probably a pretty good choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

No intercom telephone services, you cant phone to order or complain about anything. you have to go to the reception that is closed by 2200hrs!
The ambience is good (by the beach) quiet neighbourhood.
We were a group of 10 and had to fight for coplimentary breakfast, for near $100/night fee.
The only place that has wifi was the reception and very poor connectivity. no wifi in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The resort has basic rooms, with air conditioning and is situated on a beach. I am not sure bed linens were clean, no towels provided, but toilet paper was. The beach is clean and has a reef which means swimming is somewhat safer, as there is less undertow. The beach area has nice shaded huts. The hotel restaurant has excellent meals, but really overpriced. Even bottled water is really marked up. We enjoyed our stay, but it was certainly not good value for the price compared to other hotels in Lome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sæby
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We agree with other reviewers - good beach, in harbor area. Rooms basic, but fairly clean, working AC, fair price for our sea view room (23000 CFA). Food and drinks expensive, but there are neighbouring hotels to both sides, though we did not try them on our 2-day stay. Pictures on website show the truth

Room Tip: Ou room "Bravo" facing the sea (only few rooms do that)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

If first impressions counted for everything we probably wouldn’t have stayed at Coca Beach. Arriving from Ghana you drive through Lome to the port and through a succession of dusty, pot holed roads and through some rubbish strewn shanty towns. The hotel is literally in the shadow of the port but the beach is kept remarkably clean in front of the hotel. I wouldn’t have been too happy about swallowing the sea water though. We arrived on a Sunday and the place was buzzing with daytime visitors, mostly French and Lebanese ex-pats soaking up the beach front atmosphere. Our room was a large double overlooking the beach (none have a balcony). The room was clean and simply decorated. It had A/C but no fridge. Unfortunatley there were two power cuts on the day we stayed which meant the A/C was off for much of the time but a sea breeze kept the climate manageable. The staff spoke little English apart from the Head Chef, Dennis, who was very helpful to 2 English folk with only schoolboy French! We ate at the hotel at night and the food was Ok if a little expensive- theres nowhere really nearby you can go without a taxi so if you stay you should bank on eating here. The restaurant was quiet at night and the hotel next door was even quieter- we walked along the beach to it and it all seemed closed at 9.30. Coco Beach is a good choice if you want to be near Lome but not stay in the City - a taxi into town cost around $5 and took about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cocobeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocobeach

Address: Rue 9 | zone portuaire, Lome 12 502, Togo
Location: Togo > Maritime Region > Lome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Lome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cocobeach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.