We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run, old school hospitality!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Mountain Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Msebe Road | Po Box 223, Mbabane H 100, Swaziland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mbabane
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Family run, old school hospitality!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lovely hotel run by a family with efficient, well trained staff and the best views in Mbabane!
I would suggest that if you need to be in Mbabane, this is your best choice of hotel in the town. Rooms in the old wing have better views and better privacy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    67
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
43
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a long driving day to get to Mbabane, and it was so nice to end up at the Mountain Inn. The staff were super friendly. The room was clean and had everything we wanted, although it was a bit dated and worn. The view from the back courtyard is simply amazing. This seemed to be the main business hotel in Mbabane, based on the number of local business folks we saw at breakfast. It would seem to suit a business traveler more than a family or tourists. We were pleased with the quality and variety of the breakfast buffet (included in our room price)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive response to our facility. You review is most valued. We are in the process of upgrading furnishings which will update us.
Thanking you

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The staff here are pleasent and helpful and went out of their way to provide help when asked for. The rooms are certainly dated and a little tired but very clean and well looked after. Both dinner and breakfast were fine when I tried. The views are certainly great. The hotel itself reminded me of many places in Africa about 25 years ago and some realy enjoy that kind of feel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review which is most appreciated. We are very proud of our staff and our view. We are constantly upgrading and are sure you will appreciate this.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with a wonderful view and decent restaurant but not an ideal location for a tourist unless you want to be in Mbabane. Most of the things tourists want to see is in the Eluzwini valley which has a much better selection of hotels and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed our view and dinning. Whilst we are not in the valley, we are only 6km away and of course you get to enjoy the view of the valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tortola
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

What a great place to stay in Swazi. Lovely staff, fabulous view and great food. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip. It was close to the capital, Mbabane which was helpful. We will be back. Thanks to Patrick and the family for your hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your positive response.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was my 5th stay at Mountain Inn and the standard has always remained the same. The views are magnificent and the staff are so pleasant. The Friar Tuck's restaurant offers good, reasonably priced meals.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the valley have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest

We do appreciate your patronage and positive reviews. Thank you so much for staying with us. We do look forward to your return.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Mountain Inn has an amazing view of the valley below. The main lobby area is quite nice, however our room, and some of those of other couples in our tour group, were quite dated. Cleanliness was not an issue however. Also, if you have a lot of bags and your room is down below the pool, the hike back up the hill with your bags is challenging.

The breakfast could use some improvement as well. There was an attempt to serve eggs & sides individually, but they appeared to be understaffed for that, and may want to consider buffet style breakfasts.

There is a bar on the building adjoining the hotel that was a nice evening stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We enjoyed looking after your group. Our apologies, Breakfast service was not up to scratch and I will ensure this is corrected. Whilst our valley view rooms are a short distance from the main hotel, we have given them view priority and porters are always on hand to assist with luggage. Pool Side and North wing rooms are closer should you request.
Assuring you of our best attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn

Address: Msebe Road | Po Box 223, Mbabane H 100, Swaziland
Phone Number:
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mbabane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family yet professionally run hotel. The views are stunning and the hospitality great ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hotel Mbabane
Mountain Inn Swaziland/Mbabane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.