We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View ;)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Mountain Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Msebe Road | Po Box 223, Mbabane, Swaziland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mbabane
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice View ;)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great place to rest during the bushfire Event!! only 15 minutes from there. We were about 12 friends there for 2 nigths and enjoyed a nice time together, very nice staff, and a AWESOME view!! It's kind of restful place, with a nice pool, clean rooms, tv and even Gym..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We enjoyed looking after you and certainly Bushfire was a great success this year. We look forward to seeing you again for Bushfire 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    57
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
34
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The view from the rooms and from the dining room is spectacular, though if like us you leave early in the morning, it might be a bit foggy.

The room was clean and spacious. The toilet acted up a bit (either kept running or wouldn't flush unless you fiddled with the knobs) and the shower temperature dropped after a while, but both those issues were quite minor, they didn't bother me a lot.

Bonus points for offering international (european at least) outlets that can be used without a converter.

Restaurant food was good and service was swift.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have attended to the bathroom issue and yes with the many nationalities have provided multi socket outlets. I am most please you enjoyed our service and restaurant. We do endeavour to provide as comfortable a stay as possible.
Assuring you of our best attention.
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour for 2 nights. This is a charming place in Mbabane Swaziland. If you are going to Mbabane, stay here. The grounds are beautiful and the view of the valley incredible. The rooms were good sized with a safe. They also had free Internet which you could usually get in your room depending on your room location. Although not an extravagant hotel it is a very personable and friendly place to stay. We experienced the most incredible lightning storm over the valley I have ever seen. Magical! Patrick, the manager of the hotel went out of his way to help our group with any requests we had.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are most pleased to see your positive review which we value.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our 1 night stay. It was probably the most pleasurable experience we had in about 3 weeks in South Africa and Swaziland - mostly I think because the reception desk gave us a nice discount to get us to stay the night, and they were truly friendly. The room was very clean, large, with a comfy bed. The dinner and buffet breakfast were fine, nothing remarkable but they suited our needs. The view from Room #1 was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Wonderful!. We are pleased your enjoyed our services. Thank you. Your reviews are important to us.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed for one night at this hotel.
The best part of this hotel is the view. Just amazing to have this great view above the city. Beside this view the hotel was just average. The room, including bathroom, and the rest of the hotel was clean but it needs some renovation.
The restaurant (dinner and breakfast) was good, again just average nothing special.

For a one night stop it is good, but not for more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review which is greatly appreciated. Our views are spectacular and we get to enjoy them everday. We are in the prosees of upgrading all bathrooms and bedrooms and are confident that these will renew our look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Mountain Inn, whilst being rather 'tired' has much charm. It is rather run down, and the food is mediocre, yet it has 'something' which appealed to us. Reminiscent of some other older African Hotels (ie the White Horse Inn at Kabale, the Aberdare Country Club in Kenya, or Outspan) it has seen better days. Nevertheless, it has charming and caring staff, and the rooms are comfortable. We enjoyed spendid views down towards Manzini, and our room was perfectly adequate, with a sofa, Marula products, tissues etc., Sadly the TV was very limited, and the shower badly in need of replacement. The emphasis at supper was on quantity rather than quality, however it was so reasonably priced we felt we could say nothing. A filet mignon was approximately £8! There is a nice swimming pool, and the hotel is conveniently situated for touring this attractive and friendly country. We would certainly be happy to recommend it to anyone who is visiting this country and who is on a budget. If you like Hilton type hotels go elsewhere, but if you like character, friendly staff and lovely views, this is an ideal spot. We enjoyed out experience here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Owner at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Reports

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our charm, hospitality and service. We are continually upgrading and renovating. As you indicated your bathroom was in need of an renovation, and at present we are upgrading bathrooms with showers. We have done 50% of our rooms, however unfortunatly this does take time. We have improved our TV network and now have 16 channels with more renewal projects in the pipeline.
We do thank you for your critic and personal response. We ceratinly will continue to improve our product.

Assuirng you of our best attention.

Patrick Ward


Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Swazi people are lovely, the staff at this hotel were no exception we stayed here for 2 nights one of them being new years eve, the rooms are clean and comfortable with great views, they had a party on NYE and a disco the buffet food was amazing, the only down side was the up hill hike to the restaruant and main part of the hotel, if you have any walking difficulties ask for a high up room a porter will take your bags for you, the pool looked great, and was enjoyed by a group of French people on a company trip at midnight NYE.
throughly recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn

Address: Msebe Road | Po Box 223, Mbabane, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mbabane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Wifi9 hole put put ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hotel Mbabane
Mountain Inn Swaziland/Mbabane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.