We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ematjeni Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mbabane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ematjeni Guesthouse
PO Box 1113, Mbabane, Swaziland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Mbabane B&B and Inns
Jakarta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The best place to stay in Swaziland. Rooms are spacious and well furnished...dinners cooked by Ivy are very tasty. The views from the rooms are stunning. 5 minutes from "downtown" Mbabane. Try dinner also at Casa Mia, the Italian Consulate. The owners can set it up for you. There are several dogs and five or six cats...a nice touch...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
26
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at this astounding B&B for one night only. Everything was excellent. We were welcomed in the main area with coffee and a delicious cake, which was a great touch. The room was akin to a room in a five-star hotel. Breakfast was super. The family running the B&B were very friendly; we were treated like old friends visiting. The view from the room were simply spectacular. We were even invited to go to the owners' house, right next to the B&B, to enjoy the views from there too. And the price was very reasonable; I would say in the verge of unreasonable for the owners :)
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dcusa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I really should NOT do this..... Ematjeni is a hidden jewel !!!! IF your passing through Mbabane, Swaziland and PLAN on visiting the EZULWINI VALLEY....forget the resorts in the immediate area. Drive into Mbabane and stay at the EMATJENE GUESTHOUSE....YOU will not be disappointed. The rooms are extremely nice...The View is AWESOME....BUT the best part are the people that care for you. it is unreal. They are friendly...informative....JUST truely delightful. Over the years you would think that the service would slack....NOT here....its getting better. They give you breakfest....BUT lunch and dinner is up to you. Its close to the VALLEY if that is what you came for....BUT the Royal Swaz and other hotels DONT even come close....and the rate for the room is HALF what other bigger places are charging.
SIMPLY...... You'll love it here. NOW if i cannot get a room....because there are only 10 .... I'll be blaming YOU :>)
Try it....You'll love it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I concur wholeheartedly with the comments of other visitors to the Ematjeni Guest House, who stated that it offers superbly appointed rooms with a fabulous view of the granite outcrops below. We have been to many B&Bs in this part of the world, but this must surely rate as one of the best.
On its own, this establishment deserves a longer stay than one night. But unfortunately Mbabane is not really a choice tourist destination - and more of a transit point. But if you look for a quiet stay in comfortable surroundings and a view that is a feast for the eyes, this is the place for you!
The route description does not make it easy to find the guesthouse because it is situated on a back road. I would strongly advise foreign road travellers to make use of a GPS.
If you select the co-ordinates, S26º 16’ 51.24" E31º 08’ 04.96", you should have no difficulty in finding Ematjeni.
Although Ematjeni offers meals (including a standard English breakfast in the family’s dining room), there is a good restaurant only 5 auto minutes away, called Ramblas.
Ematjeni falls in the higher price segment for southern African B&Bs. But it is worth every penny and still cheap by international standards.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Only had 1 night here but what a beautiful place. Arrived late but kitchen staff 'rustled up' a 3 course meal with wine ! Very friendly and fantastic rooms.Would love to return and stay longer to appreciate the hospitality and views.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at Ematjeni Guest House for one night only on our trip through Swaziland. We did not feel it was enough. The place, simply put, it just beautiful, and there is a very scenic outlook on to the town below and the surrounding mountains.
The welcome we had was like nothing we have experienced before. The staff were friendly and they offered us an evening meal, so welcome after a long day's drive.
They gave us a welcome pot of tea on the verandah, and that came with two large slabs of chocolate cake - my husband's favourite cake by the way.
The room we had was large, luxurious and it had a balcony on which we could sit and look out over the surrounding scenery.
The guest house had lavish furnishings and lots of lovely ornaments and the whole place had more of a five star feel to it rather than the four star grading it has been given.
The bath robes on our beds were super snug and the bed very comfortable.
We enjoyed a well cooked meal that night of spicy chicken and homemade apple pie, and a very good breakfast next morning set us up for the day ahead.
I loved the talking parrot they have in the office - he amused us no end with his large repetroire of sounds and whistles, and frankly we were sad that we had to leave after just one night.
This is a friendly and lovely place and one night was not enough for us. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room we had was luxury and very comfortable. I suspect all the rooms at this guest house are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012 via mobile

Due to a serious miscalculation in driving times on my part, we didn't arrive until about 8.30 pm and as the guesthouse is a little out of town , an evening meal would have been a problem.
However , the wonderful kitchen staff willingly set out to provide something for us "nothing fancy" we were told, as it's so late and short notice.
In no time at all we sat down to a lovely 3 course meal with wine!!!!
The rooms are large and luxurious and we awoke to stupendous views and a superb breakfast.
My only regret is that I had only booked for 1 night.
I would dearly love to return, not only for the rooms,service and views, but also to prove that we CAN arrive at a reasonable time !!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ematjeni Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ematjeni Guesthouse

Address: PO Box 1113, Mbabane, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Mbabane
Also Known As:
Ematjeni Guesthouse Swaziland/Mbabane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ematjeni Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ematjeni Guesthouse to your Saves list