We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great falafel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basha Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Basha Bakery
Wilkinson Road, Freetown, Sierra Leone
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 41 Restaurants in Freetown
Cuisines: Bakery, Pizza, Sandwiches
Restaurant details
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great falafel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Basha serves some of the best falafel I've tasted in ages. Order the Falafel Plate - it comes with lots of dips and pickles. There's a wide choice of western-style food on the menu, and some African dishes on Fridays. It's a large, cool, efficient place. The prices are good, too. Certainly MUCH better value than the vastly overpriced Crown Bakery.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent CHICKEN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I cant stress this enough...the rotiserrie was something else, you can say its jus chicken but i'll disagree. Great prices, approx 20bucks for 2 pple. Special lebanese cuisine. Ambience...just a cafe, nothing special.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“excellent bakery product, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

has become over the years a favorite in Freetown for many.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba, South Sudan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Extremely popular, but why?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Basha is always busy I just never understood why. The place has been around for ages, and a couple of years ago it moved to a new building across the street from its original location.
The food is rustic and Lebanese. To me it all taste the same, don't know how to explain it, guess it's the signature taste of Basha. I can eat here once a week maximum. Some love it, i don't.
The prices are increasing more often than in other places, and lately the restaurant feels more like a tv-shop since its filled with flatscreen tv boxes for sale elsewhere.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Excellent take away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The place to get chicken and chips in town. Has decent sandwiches and serves good chips, an exception in Freetown.
Don't try the ice cream.

The place looks like a snack bar. Consider getting a take away from here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basha Bakery also viewed

Freetown, Western Area
 
Freetown, Western Area
Freetown, Western Area
 

Been to Basha Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basha Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.