We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Farid

Restaurant Farid
51 Rue Vincens, Dakar, Senegal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Dakar
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

All Libanese dishes are top quality;tasty plats , best shisha , mosquito in every were , good collection of foods;The food was served in many courses and was so bountiful that we simply could not even try some of the specialties,the lovely table visits by the manager and the overall ambiance on a mild night. It is like a step into another world.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    28
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Lebanese in Dakar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This restaurant, like many in Dakar, was behind a high wall, closing out some of the less desirable sounds and smells of the city. Once inside the open air patio area, you are transported to the Middle East. The servers and hostess were fantastic and the mezes were delicious. I shared a wonderful evening there with a great friend and couldn't have asked for a better setting. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you like Libanese cuisine...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

All Libanese dishes are top quality; non Libanese food is excellent too. The service is great, the atmosphere too. It is not for nothing that this restaurant, although it should be considered a hotel restaurant is one of the most popular in Dakar. Well done to Mr. Milan and his family! A well deserved success in town.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Michigan USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Enchanting & Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

While I am not an expert on Mediterranean cuisine, I do eat it at restaurants 2 - 5 times per year. I enjoyed our visit to Farid. The food was served in many courses and was so bountiful that we simply could not even try some of the specialties. Everything we did try was wonderful and the atmosphere was truly enchanting...especially the water feature, the lovely table visits by the manager and the overall ambiance on a mild night. It is like a step into another world.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Though the food is normal the ambience is very nice and beautifully done. One doesn't feel like sitting in such a crowded town centre. Seems to be popular among local Lebanese expatriates.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Farid also viewed

Dakar, Dakar Region
 
Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 

Been to Restaurant Farid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Farid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.