We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Libanese cuisine...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Farid

Restaurant Farid
51 Rue Vincens, Dakar, Senegal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 127 Restaurants in Dakar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you like Libanese cuisine...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

All Libanese dishes are top quality; non Libanese food is excellent too. The service is great, the atmosphere too. It is not for nothing that this restaurant, although it should be considered a hotel restaurant is one of the most popular in Dakar. Well done to Mr. Milan and his family! A well deserved success in town.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    43
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe Michigan USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enchanting & Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

While I am not an expert on Mediterranean cuisine, I do eat it at restaurants 2 - 5 times per year. I enjoyed our visit to Farid. The food was served in many courses and was so bountiful that we simply could not even try some of the specialties. Everything we did try was wonderful and the atmosphere was truly enchanting...especially the water feature, the lovely table visits by the manager and the overall ambiance on a mild night. It is like a step into another world.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Though the food is normal the ambience is very nice and beautifully done. One doesn't feel like sitting in such a crowded town centre. Seems to be popular among local Lebanese expatriates.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Competent Lebanese, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Lovely open courtyard , the food just kept coming. very relaxing. With some nice wine and a slight breeze - quite perfect after a hard days work. Not the best Lebanese I have eaten- but worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I went to the Restaurant Farid after reading all the positive Feedback on TripAdvisor and I have to say: Nothing to add. A hidden Oasis in the middle of Dakar, great food, beautiful decoration, very clean, nice people. WOW! If there were 6 stars, I would have given it 7 ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Farid also viewed

Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 
Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 

Been to Restaurant Farid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Farid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.