We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Farid

Restaurant Farid
51 Rue Vincens, Dakar, Senegal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 131 Restaurants in Dakar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I went to the Restaurant Farid after reading all the positive Feedback on TripAdvisor and I have to say: Nothing to add. A hidden Oasis in the middle of Dakar, great food, beautiful decoration, very clean, nice people. WOW! If there were 6 stars, I would have given it 7 ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    46
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nouakchott, Mauritania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Lebanese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Excellent Lebanese food and very nice atmosphere. I suggest the Mezze menu.
Prices are quite high for Dakar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is a real gem, tucked behind a solid wooden door on a side street of Dakar. I only opened the door because of the Trip Advisor sign, but wow, what a great surprise. After nearly two weeks of rice, fish, and bread in rural Senegal, the minestrone and fresh veggies were a revelation.

Quiet, significant menu, and not as expensive as it might appear to be. Not my usual taste while in Senegal, but a nice retreat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou, Benin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Surprising ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

In a rather somber street, in the very center of Dakar, entering the door of this restaurant, really creates un expected surprise view of a largely open air restaurant. A very modern ambiance creates a nice environment for the nice lebenanese meal served by very kind personnel. Sometimes it takes a while before they notice you need another drink or something like that, so don't hesitate to insist.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Oasis in Dakar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

After several days in Senegal, our group decided to venture beyond our hotel and found this recommendation on Trip Advisor. A little hard to find, but eventually found a door across the street from the Hotel Farid which opened into a huge garden courtyard. Great ambiance, and delicous Lebanese food. One in our party is from Lebanon, and gave it good marks. We ordered several cold and hot dishes, all of which were prepared very well. The only complaint is that the service was slow and difficult at times to flag down a waiter.

Overall: Very happy to find this restaurant, and will return on my next trip to Dakar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Farid also viewed

Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 
Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 

Been to Restaurant Farid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Farid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.