We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Farid

Restaurant Farid
51 Rue Vincens, Dakar, Senegal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 114 Restaurants in Dakar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nashua, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is a real gem, tucked behind a solid wooden door on a side street of Dakar. I only opened the door because of the Trip Advisor sign, but wow, what a great surprise. After nearly two weeks of rice, fish, and bread in rural Senegal, the minestrone and fresh veggies were a revelation.

Quiet, significant menu, and not as expensive as it might appear to be. Not my usual taste while in Senegal, but a nice retreat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    35
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cotonou, Benin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprising ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

In a rather somber street, in the very center of Dakar, entering the door of this restaurant, really creates un expected surprise view of a largely open air restaurant. A very modern ambiance creates a nice environment for the nice lebenanese meal served by very kind personnel. Sometimes it takes a while before they notice you need another drink or something like that, so don't hesitate to insist.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An Oasis in Dakar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

After several days in Senegal, our group decided to venture beyond our hotel and found this recommendation on Trip Advisor. A little hard to find, but eventually found a door across the street from the Hotel Farid which opened into a huge garden courtyard. Great ambiance, and delicous Lebanese food. One in our party is from Lebanon, and gave it good marks. We ordered several cold and hot dishes, all of which were prepared very well. The only complaint is that the service was slow and difficult at times to flag down a waiter.

Overall: Very happy to find this restaurant, and will return on my next trip to Dakar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Under-whelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Maybe I caught Restaurant Farid on a bad night but I had such an unsatisfactory experience there, I doubt I ever will go back. The combination of poor service, high prices and small portions added up to a dreary evening. Though I was the only patron there (it was early in the evening), the waiting staff spent most of my time there gossiping in loud voices with one another. My Lebanese mixed grill came without any rice or potatoes or salad – just a few cut onions. The mixed grill was tasty but amounted to only a few bites. That is unusual for a Lebanese restaurant. The best thing about this establishment is its décor which is very pleasant. However, there are far better and cheaper places to eat in Dakar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The best restaurant in town. We lived in Dakar for a couple of months and tried many different restaurants but Farid was simply the best. The service is outstanding and welcoming, and the atmosphere is relaxed and cosy. After passing through the heavy wooden doors you feel like entering an relaxing oasis. The food is delicious and fresh, I especially recommend the "brochette de boef".
The prices are good and fair, keeping in mind that the foodquality is equisite. For a dinner of similar quality in Europe you would have to pay more than twice as much.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Farid also viewed

Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 
Dakar, Dakar Region
 

Been to Restaurant Farid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Farid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.