We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a few things (beach and view), average for others - and improvements made” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ngor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dakar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ngor
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ngor to your Saves list
PO Box 8092, Dakar, Senegal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Dakar
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for a few things (beach and view), average for others - and improvements made”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel has a a big advantage for the person who wants to swim or relax at beachside, or perhaps take a quick easy day trip to Ngor Island for some seafood and a swim on that island. The view from the hotel window is also probably the best in Dakar.
On many fronts the hotel is average. It is an old hotel past its prime, and the some of the facilities (ie bathroom) were working fine on my room but not highly rated. There are a lot of new hotels in Dakar so if you are looking for attention to detail and luxury this is definitely not the place.
The real advantage is the private beach, with paillottes for shade and paddle boats and other stuff for rent for fun in the water. There is a very busy public beach right next to it. I think the pool is pretty nice too, with a poolside bar and resto near. And the 5 min boat taxi (around $1) or even a 1000m swim over to Ngor Island makes a nice adventure to kill a few hours.

Room Tip: Higher is better, due to the amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The rooms aren't bad looking and are clean enough but this hotel is lacking essential amenities including hot water in the showers, curtains on the bathroom windows, internet in the rooms, and responsive service. I was required to stay here for a business conference and certainly would never recommend this hotel to anyone who is able to choose their own. While the hotel pool is nice and the views stupendous, this hotel does not measure up to the price. The breakfast buffet is meager, the hotel restaurant is a far walk from the rooms, and the hotel staff are aggressive to the point of rude when trying to determine if those frequenting the hotel pool are guests of the hotel or free-loaders. Additionally the beds are old and not very comfortable and there are no mosquito nets. Not having internet in the rooms is a terrible inconvenience and I suspect that this hotel assumes 95% of its profits from conferences and thus doesn't see upgrade or quality service as a necessity.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kano, Nigeria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a week during a conference in Dakar. The hotel was booked for us by our organisation and was a bit skeptical especially after reading the reviews but i was actually pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It is obviously dated but it has its good points. The staff particularly those at the restaurants were very polite (those at the reception though not too much). The breakfast was amazing, some of the best croissants i have ever had, the view from the room windows are fantastic and every room in the hotel has a view of the water. I also love that the hotel is quite with a calm ambiance. The rooms are spacious. My major problem was the window in the bathroom, it is HUGE and right next to the bath tub, you need a bit of gymnastic skills to avoid exposing yourself to anyone seating on the beach, i complained but was told all the rooms are like that, i really dont know whats up with that. over all though not a bad experience at all especially if you are after some peace and calm time and love the smell and sound of the ocean.

Room Tip: the rooms on the third floor are bigger and the view is better, it is also more quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

After reading the reviews here, which are 2 years old, I approached with some trepidation! My visit is to attend a conference in the hotel itself, so I had no choice. I was pleasantly surprised. It is vast, mostly empty, and a little quirky. It is certainly NOT a luxury hotel but my room is large and airy and clean. The layout is bizarre, the room is on 2 levels with toilet by the bed and bathroom down a flight of stairs, but hey, I just get more exercise.

I always travel with my own coffee making system, I just need a kettle, but there is not one in the room and my attempts to request one are met with blank incomprehension and advice to ask at the bar for hot water. The bar is closed.

There is mostly a mostly usable wireless internet connection over most of the place. It is adequate for email, but don't expect to stream a video or have skype meeting.

The food is pretty good, nothing elaborate, but ok and fresh and standards of hygiene seem good. Breakfast is minimal but adequate, coffee is appalling.

I would not come here for a holiday, they seem to exist on the conference trade and on stranded passengers from flight cancellations. The view is spectacular across the Ocean, but the small 'beach' area is not very conducive to the normal tourist stuff.

Overall, nothing like as bad as I feared!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

I stayed at hotel Ngor on a business trip in Dakar. On entry the hotel reception area was very spacious but hollow. The room was the same. Rooms are generally bearable. The BIG problem with this hotel is cleanliness. They have never heard of the word. The bathroom in particular was very very dirty. They do not clean the taps at all. Thank God they have ceramic tiles in their rooms otherwise they would be smelly. The view from each room is magnificent, and the bar area is also pleasant. The pool area is lovely and clean as well.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

I stayed at the NGor Hotel for a weekend while attending the arrival of the Heroes Legend race. The hotel is well situated out of the center of the city but only 15 mn away by cab, and 5 minutes from the airport. It is next to a beach with nice restaurants. Being a bit outside saves you from the usual and overwhelming street vendors and also enables you to meet locals that are very friendly and helpful. The neighborhood is good and the best thing is the NGor island just across where you can eat great seafood. It felt great to be in a hotel that was not run by an international chain and I liked the local feel of it.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

I was stranded in Senegal on a business trip traveling between South Africa and the USA. Delta airlines was at fault, as there was a mechical problem with the plane which could not be fixed, so they hauled the whole plane off in a bus at the middle of the night to the dark dank dirty Hotel Ngor. As the previous reviewer mentioned, there are 2 hotels here. I stayed at the 'low rise'.

The rooms were not very clean, no hot water, and very little water pressure. See photo of bathroom... can you figure out how to shower in this? The hotel itself was run-down and in a bad state of repair. It looked like it had not seen a coat of paint in 30 years.

The only good thing was there was free wi-fi in the lobby. (Which was shocking to me.)

The staff were not helpful in communicating to us any info about our flight. They seemed to just tell us what we wanted to hear to get us to go away.

The bartender didn't want to sell me a water and it became a negotiating game on the price.

The hotel itself is in a residential area, leaving me with a not so good impression of the country.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ngor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ngor

Address: PO Box 8092, Dakar, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Dakar
Number of rooms: 124

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ngor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.