We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOOD IS FRESH AND TASTY AND THATS ALL” 3 of 5 stars
Review of chez Loutcha

chez Loutcha
101 Rue Mousse Diop, Dakar, Senegal
338210302
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 122 Restaurants in Dakar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“FOOD IS FRESH AND TASTY AND THATS ALL”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The food is really good in Chez loutcha, specially any fish dish which seems to be their speciality. I went for Lunch with my uncle and was surprised to see that the tables were so near to each other that you could not move your arm without touching your table neighbour or the odd passing waiter or patron.
I was glad however to realise that the food was good, tasty and fresh. I would go back and would recommend for all fish lovers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    62
    24
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent experience in Dakar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Good food, excellent service, and not expensive. Huge menu with a variety of selections. The atmosphere is cozy and friendly. It was very helpful that English, French, Portuguese, and Wolof is spoken in the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngaparou, Senegal
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just about every cuisine under the sun here...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

You'll find truly excellent value here and just about every cuisine under the sun available is this wonderful downtown historical Dakar eatery - especially Cap Verdian, Senegalese, other African, European. The food is good honest home cooking. The decor is somewhat spartan - plastic table cloths etc. and fans rather than air-cons - but then that's to be expected in a joint where the ethos is all about copious good food at very affordable prices. Portions are enormous and quite enough for two normal appetites. If you order one main course for two people and ask for an extra plate - so as to share it - you may be charged an extra 1000 CFA but that's fair enough in my book as the prices are so low for the portions offered. The service is amiable and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place is not what it used to be at a llllllllllllllllll! I almost vomit what I ate there during my trip in Seengal, and I was chocked while going out to see they have a certificate from TripAdvisor PLC. I think you should be touring to make sure those to whom you gee these kind of recognition keeps the standards. We were 3, my niece, my husband and myself none of us enjoyed our food and I was planning to go back on thusrday for the Coucous Royale that I use to enjoy but I did not go anymore.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“very tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The "worst" thing is to deal with the huge menu they have, from pizza to portuguese dishes, from senegalese to cape verdean (even if some dishes shown may not be available at the time). The atmosphere is quite informal, the food is great, prices are very very reazonable. I will come back for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed chez Loutcha also viewed

Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 
Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 

Been to chez Loutcha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage chez Loutcha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.