We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crappy hotel & crappy service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar to your Saves list
Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 rue Vincens, Dakar 99, Senegal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Dakar
Chennai, India.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Crappy hotel & crappy service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I heard a lot about the reviews & decided to try on night.nthe price is cheap at $60 for dakar but the service is also cheap.
Had a chap at the reception who Seemed the most inhospitable person I have ever seen. Harly any one staying there & I don't wonder why. I hope the owner reads & changes the chap sitting there. I was give a room 10 & the room stinks & the ac does not work called the guy & he said be patient. Requested to chnage my room & he had no answer.
Thank god I am staying here just for the night.
I will never ever come here again & will not recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    27
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
18
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here three times last year, over a two week period. Excellent mid-class option. Lobby staff are really friendly and helpful. We initially arrived late in the night, like 3 or 4 a.m., without incident: after ringing a bell, someone opened the door and checked us in.

Clean rooms, well organized, no complaints.

On our last visit, they were just about fully booked and so we had no choice but to take one of their older rooms. These are definitely to be avoided if possible: ask in advance for one that has been renovated and you’ll be much more comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I recently spent nine nights with a couple friends at this hotel while on an extended stay in Dakar. Overall, a fine affordable option in a solid location...

- Convenient location in the heart of the city: Walking distance from many restaurants and cafes as well as the shore. Conveniences on the block such as a small supermarket and dry-cleaning services (albeit a bit aggressively priced)
- Quality restaurant with great outdoor terrace: Enjoyed the hotel's Lebanese restaurant across the street from the hotel itself. Good food in a great setting to sit outside in the evening.
- Great internet: Quite fast, dependable, free wi-fi connection
- Interesting clientele: A mix of middle-age plus European tourists as well as some other guests who appeared to have a significant number of female visitors...
- Friendly service: Staff at reception was always quite friendly (especially in French)
- Unexceptional rooms: Rooms were clean but nothing to get excited about. Probably comparable to private rooms in many better-quality hostels: reasonable beds and linens, functional shower & bath....nothing to get excited about, but also nothing to inconvenience you

If you are looking for a "reasonable base" at a reasonable price in Dakar, this place works just fine. It's not a destination in itself - simply does the job and allows you to enjoy the rest of your trip in this fascinating city. There are cheaper options as well as more expensive options....this middle of the road one is likely "just right" if you know what you are looking for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Farid for four nights, but not consecutively. I returned. The desk staff remembered me and were friendly as puppies. They helped me out of some difficult situations (getting a cab, finding my way around town, getting rid of pesky vendors), and were always ready with a chat or advise.

Yes, the "basic" rooms could use a paint job. Yes, they lacked screens. (This seems to be a problem all over the country! This is mosquito land! Yet screens are universally unknown.) But even the basic rooms have hot water, air conditioning and a balcony. The hotel is centrally located, and known to many (but not all!) taxi drivers.

I recommend it to mid-budget travelers, who want a good night's sleep, and a helpful staff. I did have to fiddle with the room lock a bit, but it worked.

Room Tip: If you ask for the BUDGET rooms, you get the ones like I had. The more expensive ones have been rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Our four night stay in the Hotel Farid was marred by, bizarrely, issues with the lock on our door. Firstly, the cleaners perpetually forgot to lock our door, despite numerous reminders, which is hardly good security. Secondly, our lock (on one of the faded 'classic' rooms) broke, which was hardly our fault, but was dealt with as if it was.

The management hardly covered themselves in glory. We had to wait whilst they endlessly fiddled around with the lock to no avail. We asked if we could be moved to another ('classic') room whilst it was fixed, but there were none available. We eventually moved to one of the superior rooms (which were not full), but not before the management had asked us to pay the difference (which we flatly refused). They are more interested in money than customer service at the Farid.

The location is good and, as mentioned before, the Lebanese restaurant over the road is a real tasty oasis. Dakar is a lively city with a breezy climate and is well worth a visit. I'm not sure the Farid is the best option though.

Room Tip: There is a vast difference in quality between the 'classic' and superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Expensive hotel at £40 a night, great location, safe (someone on desk 24/7), rooms was not serviced at all during my 3 night stay (went while on holiday in the gambia) and while I am glad of the experience of travelling from Gambia to Senegal I hated Dakar, dirty, uncomfortably aggresive people following me around the streets and dead rats on the street really did for me, glad of the experience but never again.

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade from the smaller, darker "classic rooms" which are basically small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Senegal is not as cheap as other African nations, and Dakar is an expensive city in Senegal, so all things considered this centrally-located hotel is good value. The rooms were large, clean, with hot water, the reception staff were friendly and helpful. If you want downtown accomodation which doesn't cost the earth then I'd recommend the Farid.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar

Address: 51 rue Vincens, Dakar 99, Senegal
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-restaurant in Dakar, Senegal: Business, Downtown, Online booking, free internet access - Wi-Fi access, taxi services (pick up at airport), change office at hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farid Hotel Dakar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.