We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent mid-class option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar

Save Saved
You added Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 rue Vincens, Dakar 99, Senegal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 38 hotels in Dakar
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent mid-class option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here three times last year, over a two week period. Excellent mid-class option. Lobby staff are really friendly and helpful. We initially arrived late in the night, like 3 or 4 a.m., without incident: after ringing a bell, someone opened the door and checked us in.

Clean rooms, well organized, no complaints.

On our last visit, they were just about fully booked and so we had no choice but to take one of their older rooms. These are definitely to be avoided if possible: ask in advance for one that has been renovated and you’ll be much more comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
14
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I recently spent nine nights with a couple friends at this hotel while on an extended stay in Dakar. Overall, a fine affordable option in a solid location...

- Convenient location in the heart of the city: Walking distance from many restaurants and cafes as well as the shore. Conveniences on the block such as a small supermarket and dry-cleaning services (albeit a bit aggressively priced)
- Quality restaurant with great outdoor terrace: Enjoyed the hotel's Lebanese restaurant across the street from the hotel itself. Good food in a great setting to sit outside in the evening.
- Great internet: Quite fast, dependable, free wi-fi connection
- Interesting clientele: A mix of middle-age plus European tourists as well as some other guests who appeared to have a significant number of female visitors...
- Friendly service: Staff at reception was always quite friendly (especially in French)
- Unexceptional rooms: Rooms were clean but nothing to get excited about. Probably comparable to private rooms in many better-quality hostels: reasonable beds and linens, functional shower & bath....nothing to get excited about, but also nothing to inconvenience you

If you are looking for a "reasonable base" at a reasonable price in Dakar, this place works just fine. It's not a destination in itself - simply does the job and allows you to enjoy the rest of your trip in this fascinating city. There are cheaper options as well as more expensive options....this middle of the road one is likely "just right" if you know what you are looking for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Farid for four nights, but not consecutively. I returned. The desk staff remembered me and were friendly as puppies. They helped me out of some difficult situations (getting a cab, finding my way around town, getting rid of pesky vendors), and were always ready with a chat or advise.

Yes, the "basic" rooms could use a paint job. Yes, they lacked screens. (This seems to be a problem all over the country! This is mosquito land! Yet screens are universally unknown.) But even the basic rooms have hot water, air conditioning and a balcony. The hotel is centrally located, and known to many (but not all!) taxi drivers.

I recommend it to mid-budget travelers, who want a good night's sleep, and a helpful staff. I did have to fiddle with the room lock a bit, but it worked.

Room Tip: If you ask for the BUDGET rooms, you get the ones like I had. The more expensive ones have been rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Our four night stay in the Hotel Farid was marred by, bizarrely, issues with the lock on our door. Firstly, the cleaners perpetually forgot to lock our door, despite numerous reminders, which is hardly good security. Secondly, our lock (on one of the faded 'classic' rooms) broke, which was hardly our fault, but was dealt with as if it was.

The management hardly covered themselves in glory. We had to wait whilst they endlessly fiddled around with the lock to no avail. We asked if we could be moved to another ('classic') room whilst it was fixed, but there were none available. We eventually moved to one of the superior rooms (which were not full), but not before the management had asked us to pay the difference (which we flatly refused). They are more interested in money than customer service at the Farid.

The location is good and, as mentioned before, the Lebanese restaurant over the road is a real tasty oasis. Dakar is a lively city with a breezy climate and is well worth a visit. I'm not sure the Farid is the best option though.

Room Tip: There is a vast difference in quality between the 'classic' and superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Expensive hotel at £40 a night, great location, safe (someone on desk 24/7), rooms was not serviced at all during my 3 night stay (went while on holiday in the gambia) and while I am glad of the experience of travelling from Gambia to Senegal I hated Dakar, dirty, uncomfortably aggresive people following me around the streets and dead rats on the street really did for me, glad of the experience but never again.

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade from the smaller, darker "classic rooms" which are basically small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Senegal is not as cheap as other African nations, and Dakar is an expensive city in Senegal, so all things considered this centrally-located hotel is good value. The rooms were large, clean, with hot water, the reception staff were friendly and helpful. If you want downtown accomodation which doesn't cost the earth then I'd recommend the Farid.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Hotel Farid is located right in the center of the Plateu (downtown) Dakar, within walking distance from Place de l'Independance, the ferry to Ile de Goree, downtown markets and shopping avenues. The room are clean and ok for a stay in the city. The staff is helpful and the people at the reception usually speak other languages besides French (at least English, and possibly some Italian/Spanish). The lebanese restaurant of the hotel, located cross the street, is a nice place with great food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar

Also Known As:
Farid Hotel Dakar
Address: 51 rue Vincens, Dakar 99, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 hotels in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-restaurant in Dakar, Senegal: Business, Downtown, Online booking, free internet access – Wi-Fi access, taxi services (pick up at airport), change office at hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.