We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guidebooks are totally misleading - do not stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Phare Les Mamelles

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Phare Les Mamelles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Phare Les Mamelles
36 Cite des Magistrats | Les Mamelles 14522, Dakar 38110, Senegal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 39 hotels in Dakar
Dakar
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Guidebooks are totally misleading - do not stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

This place cost me $60 a night for a basic room with the bathroom down the hall. The whole place was packed with mosquitoes, literally clouds of them gathered in the bathroom, stairwells, and any common areas. The bed net was full of holes to the point that I had to cover the top with a towel and stuff t-shirts in the sides. The only light source in my room broke and I was left in the dark for hours, having to change clothes without being able to see. No taxi driver has any idea how to find it, and don't try brining anything to eat or drink into your room. You'll be stopped at the door. The employees were surly and couldn't understand why I didn't love the place. I left asap and went to another place (Keur Diame), which was listed in the Lonely Planet guidebook. It was infinitely better and half the cost.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    7
    5
    9
See reviews for
3
18
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cymru
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

A decent budget choice. I asked for an airport pick up but it was not there when I landed at the airport and had to take a taxi. The staff are friendly and efficient and the rooms are clean but bare although the air conditioning worked well. There is free and reasonably reliant wifi internet access. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietra Ligure
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Perfect atmosphere for a pleasant and relaxing stay in Dakar. It's like being in a peaceful oasis from the urban chaos. The service is wonderful and very courteous. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

The young women who run this place create a truly lovely friendly place to stay. Would be great for single traveler. Food is slightly overpriced, but delicious. Very clean. Only complaint would be that the driver attached to the hotel is a jerk. He didn't turn up in the morning to meet our flight as promised and that's a big deal because Dakar airport is NOT for the faint of heart. Every taxi will take you to town for 2000 except the hotel's drive, who acts insulted when you offer that price. In a city full of lovely personalities they need to find a new driver. But I've gone on too much about that one negative, when the hotel is really wonderful and well worth staying in. Try their monkfish cassoulet (better yet, share it with someone cause the servings are huge). Ask Gilberte, a delightful young woman who works as a waitress here to take you on a guided tour of the city. She represents everything that makes African women great. You'll love her.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

I spent three weeks in Dakar for field research and stayed at the Hotel du Phare Les Marmelles in a simple room with A/C. It is located in a quiet suburb of Dakar, 10min from the airport and 20min from downtown by taxi. The trip was very successful, which in part was due to the hotel.

The simple rooms are simple, but suffice for backpackers. Travelers seeking more comfort should rent one of the spacious suits with an own bathroom. The rooms and the whole hotel are cleaned everyday and the patio invites guests to spend the evening enjoying a drink and delicious meal (Belgian Cuisine). The staff is very friendly and helpful -- no matter if you need help figuring out how to get to a specific place in Dakar, need help arranging transportation into the country, or simply need an early breakfast or lunch to go.

This is topped-off by the free wireless internet access that works throughout the hotel and the interesting people that check into this place. During my stay I have meet a malaria-researcher from Britain, a journalist from France24, a French aid worker, Moroccan transportation managers, and a US-entrepreneur over dinner, each giving me insights to aspects of the country, live and business in Senegal I would have never gotten if I had stayed at one of the big western-stile and considerably more expensive hotels downtown.

In short, I can recommend this hotel to all travelers looking for a hotel in Dakar that is excellent value and seeking more than just the standard tourist experience of Senegal.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Hotel P du M is a great little hotel which offers a highly qualitative sense of customer service along with its convenient location and affordable pricing. Located very close to Yoff International Airport, financial services, nightlife, shopping centres, statue, lighthouse, taxis, autogare, and beaches, Hotel P du M is only 20 minutes ride from downtown and the ferry terminal for Goree Island and Casamance. The ambiance is cool and cozy. The food is delicious. The hotel is clean. The pricing is mid range. Eric is fluent in both French and English and his advice about Senegal is accurate and useful. The owner-operators, Eric and Fabrice, are captains of a tight ship with a fun crew. The staff are helpful and personable. The overall feeling of Hotel Phare du Mamelles is of a nice family and I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, not tTexas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Nice small hotel with a very nice and friendly staff, a good food and nice room. In a nice and quiet neighborhood. A place where you are happy to return after your day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Phare Les Mamelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Phare Les Mamelles

Address: 36 Cite des Magistrats | Les Mamelles 14522, Dakar 38110, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 hotels in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel du Phare Les Mamelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Phare Les Mamelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.