We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place... sad story” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison des Esclaves

La Maison des Esclaves
Goree Island, Dakar, Senegal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Dakar
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This centuries-old house served as a processing center for African slaves.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place... sad story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Goree island is one of the calming places I've ever been , very nice and natural.Although house of slaves is very sad, try to hear from the man working inside about the story, very interesting.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    147
    53
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“prepare to be underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I'm pretty sure 'Goree' must be the Wolof word for 'crowded little island where people constantly approach you to buy overpriced tat'. This was probably a nice day trip once. But the ferry schedule is not particularly helpful and the island has simply morphed into one large, disappointing gift shop. And not an especially nice one at that. Go if you must - the House of Slaves is about what you would expect and is, of course, sad and sobering - but otherwise be prepared to be underwhelmed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fascinating and thought-provoking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A really interesting place to spent a few hours, and you don't need a tour guide, exactly as Tonitony said, although having a Senegalese colleague from Dakar is a useful but only partial deterrent to the persistent squadrons of hawkers and vendors. Basically you simply go through the tourist tax gate and keep left past the statues presented by Guadeloupe to the House of Slaves. You can then meander up the hill to the castle and fortifications of all ages. There are two small, dynamic and distinctive communities living up there. And the artwork in the stalls and on the track up to the top with its magnificent view in all directions is stunning.

The location is beautiful, but the contrast with the dire conditions endured by the human cargo shipped to the West Indies is extreme

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You Decide...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

First, you do not need a tour company to take you to Goree Island. Take a cab to the dock (about 1,500CFA), but a ticket (5,200CFA0, get on the ferry and pay to tour the Island (500CFA). Someone on the ferry will approach you about giving you a tour - we took him up on his offer because he spoke English. We asked him how much he charged he said to pay him what we felt the tour was worth. At the end of the day he wanted 100,000CFA - we gave him 15,000CFA for three people. We did not see the slave quarters because it is closed from noon-2:30 for lunch - so plan accordingly. Our guide was able to get a "special opening" for 25,000CFA - we declined. Very crowded with locals picnicking and swimming. Very run down and lots and lots of folks trying to sell you something. It was OK but not so sure it was worth the hassle in the heat...

If you go with a tour company you have to pay the tour guides expenses.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, Uganda
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Rich in History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The island is very beautiful with a lot of tourists and people swimming in the ocean. I enjoyed watching the painters and artists making pieces using just sand and a few paint strokes. That was the highlight for me. The slave history is very sad but educative. To see that the island has nearly been kept in its original shape since then was pretty amazing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison des Esclaves also viewed

Dakar, Dakar Region
 

Been to La Maison des Esclaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison des Esclaves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.