We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough place in the centre of Dakar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oceanic

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dakar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Oceanic
Save Saved
You added Hotel Oceanic to your Saves list
9, rue de Thann | 9, Rue de Thann Senegal, Dakar 18522, Senegal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Dakar
Sark, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice enough place in the centre of Dakar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a nice enough hotel in the centre of Dakar, it's in a reasonably quiet area. The room was good, reasonably priced, the restaurante and bar was good. If you want a clean, friendly and reasonably priced place in the centre of Dakar then I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

I stayed two nights at the "Hotel Oceanic" in downtown Dakar.The hotel had a bar at the bottom level of the three story hotel that was on a patio terrace.The rooms were fanventilated with bathroom faclilities.The rooms were clean done up in basic West African decor. The best deal is to share a triple room with two other friends/travelers
the triples are cost per room per night not per person.Staff was very friendly,they liked going the extra step to be resourceful.The hotel is popular with fellow travelers that were visiting from mainly Europe.Hotel is right near the center of downtown with just a 10 minute walk to the ferries to Goree Island.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

Stayed at this hotel in Feb 2007, but felt compelled to write a review in Feb 2008 when reading other reviews for the Oceanic (in preparation for another trip to Dakar). I would not recommend this hotel to other travelers, unless you have absolutely no choice! The room was not very clean (I ended up sleeping in my clothes because I didn't want to sleep on the sheets). There was a mildew smell and everything seemed a little damp. The worst part was that I'm almost positive that the place was being used as a brothel because I kept seeing women coming and going. The tell-tale sign, however, was the man with the gold chains, gold rings, and lots of money, who seemed to know all of the women. I guess this will teach me to always by the updated version of "Lonely Planet" instead of using older versions (which said this was a clean, cheap place to stay).

  • Liked — very friendly staff, location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senegal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

What a experience,we had a one month stay in the hotel and will never forget it,
The people working at the hotel looked after us as if we were family members,
The food -excellent
Rooms cleaned daily
The hotel exceed our expectations,

Johan Austin
South-Africa

  • Liked — Friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — No tv in the room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

After checking in and cleaning up (showers had hot water and good water pressure), we emerged from our retro-70s room to find a dirty old mattress had been discarded in the hallway directly outside our door. Well, we thought to ourselves, we suppose they'll get rid of it by the time we return from dinner. Alas, the dirty old mattress remained our steadfast companion for the duration of our stay.
That said, the staff did clean our room and the common areas diligently but didn't seem to realize that the old mattress negated the effort put forth to keep the place "clean". The balcony almost made up for the fact that we had a few roaches in the room. The restaurant downstairs provided satisfactory breakfasts, but don't expect to get a proper cocktail at the bar. The hotel is centrally located and affordable. We found a nice bakery and a good French restaurant nearby. Even in central Dakar we could have benefited from a mosquito net.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2005

The Oceanic is a three story hotel in downtown Dakar. Its very cheap about 1/4th of the price of Novhotel. It is next to the Market Kermel. You need reservations in the hoilday season and in the winter months. Ideal for larger parties they have some rooms for 4-6 people. Nice restaurant and good security.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oceanic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceanic

Address: 9, rue de Thann | 9, Rue de Thann Senegal, Dakar 18522, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel OCEANIC, situated in city center in a colonial building of more than a century, shelters 24 rooms(chambers) (bathroom and individual air conditioning) on 2 floors around a patio in the shade of a mango and of a vineyard(vine). OCEANIC HOTEL was totally renovated with change of : All the bedding by mattresses quite new, cover beds, curtains, etc. All the air conditioning by quite new Split, WIFI is available gracefully at the level of all the rooms. Single: 38, 50 Euro All taxes Double: 46, 00 Euro All taxes Triples: 58, 00 Euro All taxes Quadruple:66, 00 Euro All taxes Have breakfast:3, 80 Euro/Pers. Menu(except drink): 11, 50 Euro Our Price lists are graded according to the duration of the stay (see tariff board on our site ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oceanic Hotel Dakar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oceanic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.