We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Five

Big Five
24, Rue Victor Hugo, Dakar, Senegal
+221 33 822 05 05
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 122 Restaurants in Dakar
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: International, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The BIG FIVE is much more than a simple restaurant. Every day our staff cook fresh products from local Senegalese market and are inspired from the 5 continents gastronomy. We are proud of our "home made" dishes and share them at reasonable price. So, join us ! New from September 2014, we open at 07H00 am for a delicious home made breakfast. We stay open all day long for a meal, a cup of tea or a glass of wine.
Dakar, Senegal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Since reopening this restaurant has really changed its image and offers an amazing 3 course meal that's always different. A must for any traveller and excellent value for money for us ex pats living in Dakar and needing good food at reasonable prices.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred B, Gérant at Big Five, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear James,
Thanks for sharing your experience at Big Five restaurant.
You are right, the restaurant is run from early this year by a new team,and we improve the comfort, the quality of food, and the price policy everyday.
Did you know that we are now open everyday ( except on Sundays) from the breakfast (07am) to late diner (11pm) ? and everything is delicious and always affordable.
Hope to see you soon again with pleasure.
Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Senegal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The management is just changed and this cosy and warm restaurant is vibrating of the energy of the new chef. You will taste good tapas and a "cuisine du marché" to have always the best the market can offer every day for a good price. You have to go to try once and you will come back again for sure.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred B, Gérant at Big Five, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Thank you for being one of the earliest customer of the "new" Big Five" restaurant and for sharing this realistic advice. Our staff do his best to satisfy customers at every stage and we like it to be appreciated. You can event try now our breakfast from 07 am.
Hope to see you soon.
Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nouakchott, Mauritania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very good value and extremely friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I understand the management has recently changed and the enthusiasm of the staff was great. From outside it doesn't look great but inside there is a very nice courtyard. In the evening all the tapas cost CFA 1000 each, the same for a glass of wine. I made a second visit during my short stay in Dakar and think I would be a regular if I lived there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred B, Gérant at Big Five, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
As everybody, I always remember my first time (first bike, first teppan yaki, first snow falling, …). So at Big Five with have a special emotion for the first advise on TA. And it is you John !
So, from all our staff, thank you very much for this, and always be welcome in our restaurant.
For sure you are the locomotive of a long train ( hope as long as the train you have in Mauritania, the longest in the world...).
See you soon with pleasure.
Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Five also viewed

Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 
Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 

Been to Big Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Five, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.