We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Dakar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Dakar to your Saves list
Ibis Dakar
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Abdoulaye Fadiga No 2, Dakar 18524, Senegal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Accor weekend offer
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Dakar
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This Ibis hotel is a bit higher standard than Ibis in Europe and travellers can be sure they are getting a good standard accommodation.

The quality of the renovated beds is very good, the mattress, the duvet and pillows makes a very good night sleep, I have no complains at all on this aspect, it matches the quality of a 4+ star hotel in Europe. Note here, I stayed in one of the renovated rooms (CFA 60,000)

In the food aspect, the breakfast is good but nothing but missing good scrambled eggs, I cannot ask for omelettes but well done scrambled eggs should be basic.

Location wise, it is downtown next to Novotel (normal) and a couple of blocks away from other longer established hotels in Dakar. For business is good if you need to be downtown, night life is not good, since most restaurants and night entertainment is far from the hotel, but food in Novotel is good.

Room Tip: For a good night sleep, ask for the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    68
    27
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
15
13
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I was surprised to find how clean the hotel was. Ibis is a pretty reliable chain in general was this hotel was a nice find in Dakar. It's way downtown within walking distance from the main craft market. Just make sure it's near everything else you want to do. The rooms are small but well equipped. The hotel shares a pool and restaurant with the Novotel (connected). Breakfast is included and the wifi is free. Unfortunately the wifi is slow, temperamental and doesn't work well in the hotel rooms. Overall I was pleased with the clean room but the spotty wifi and $110 per night price makes this an average rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lagos nigeria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just spent 3 days here on business....the staff were courteous and friendly despite the communication challenges as I do not speak french. The room was decent sized but could do with a new set of bedding and towels. I did not like the fact that the windows are permanently sealed and I could not open for some fresh air when I felt like it. In all, the location was safe and within waking distance to the business district. It has a lovely sea view and would meet your basic needs for a short stay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms any where from the 3rd floor give you a pleasant sight
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

For F 30,000, about $65 for a single in this three star hotel, you're not surprised to find the occasional oddity. When I asked for salt for my breakfast eggs, I got two pepper shakers!

Positive points: clean rooms, not too big, nice TV selection, excellent connectivity, at least on the second floor, where I was. Lots of anglophone clients, so desk staff are bilingual.

The lunch & dinner menu is short and uninspiring, but you can walk across to the Novotel, which shares the same compound, and order from their much longer menu.

Excellent location

I give this place four stars because, unlike so many downtown hotels, it does not have that unfortunate lived in look. If you like cheap Holiday Inns, you'll love the Ibis.

Room Tip: Try for the lower floors. With only one elevator, you want to be close to the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Dakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Dakar

Address: Avenue Abdoulaye Fadiga No 2, Dakar 18524, Senegal
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Dakar 1*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Dakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Dakar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.