We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxed outdoor area and great staff - basic rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Dakar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Dakar to your Saves list
Novotel Dakar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Abdoulaye Fadiga | BP 2073, Dakar 18524, Senegal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
City breaks
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Dakar
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed outdoor area and great staff - basic rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 8 nights, combining a business trip with some sightseeing as this was my first trip to Senegal. The pluses; A great pool and nice area around the outside bar to relax - the tapas menu is great, I tried most things by the end of the week and the staff are friendly and welcoming. We had a two day business meeting in conference rooms at the Ibis next door. Everything was very well organised and professional, and the buffet lunch each day was really good. The breakfast buffet was also good, although very busy at the weekend and some waiting for certain dishes to be refreshed.
Less good; The room was clean and perfectly adequate, but somewhat basic; it suited me fine as I was out a lot. The bedlinen was clean but tired looking. The carpet was dingy.
However, overall as a lone female traveller I felt very safe and comfortable. There is a lovely walk from the back of the hotel garden around the Corniche with some stunning sea views. People in Senegal are generally nice and friendly, but beware over enthusiastic trinket sellers!

Room Tip: There is some noise at the weekend, so rooms on higher floors are quieter. Nice views from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    164
    62
    16
    10
See reviews for
16
27
48
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Novotel recently when visiting Dakar and I will most definitely return to that hotel. It is conveniently located near the city centre and the rooms are pretty basic but clean and neat. The staff are very friendly although always wanting to sell you one item or the other whenever a chance obtains. The hotel has a nice pool but no gym.The breakfast buffet is quite good with a good variety and the ala-carte menu good. The bar has a good selection of wines although quite pricy. I fine place to stay in Dakar.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Rooms are very small and very expensive.just security important for them other is nothing ! Reception cant speak english.Because of that stay out and choose another otel if you want to be happy visit Dakar.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

This is my third visit to the Novotel. Sadly the hotel has slipped a little in the past two years. Generally it is a safe hotel offering reasonable accommodation at reasonable prices. Specific problem areas are ventilation in the bedrooms and a need to replace some of the seating in the restaurant. Reception and room staff are helpful. There's a nice relaxing outdoor bar area and swimming pool.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

This happened at the very end of last year, I stayed at Ibis (excellent!) but for dinner sometimes I went to Novotel for vegetable soup. One evening I noticed that the pot was bigger as always. After the first spoon I felt something is strange, after second – I had to say myself "Madam, You are not hungry!", after third one I understand – Novotel Restaurant served me SOUR soup! I asked the waiter to check the quality of soup. After 10 minutes the soup was changed. I could understand if there would be fly, or grain etc. But sour unfresh soup! It means Novotel Restaurant served unfresh meal INTENTIONALLY to get full price. They even didn't say "Pardon"!!! It's big shame for all Novotel.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Rooms are nice compared to the city around the hotel. Staff are courteous and helpful, enough so to go out and get two electrical adaptors for me. The buffet offered in the restaurant are delightful and delicious. Fresh fish are on hand everyday. The bathrooms are small, just like in France. Go figure. I was able to view a Senegalese peeing in the ocean from my room. Don't see that everyday.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Nothing special, but for a business hotel good enough. Airport pick-up worked well. Room was clean, staff were friendly enough and there was a good selection at breakfast. I didn't eat dinner in the hotel but discovered a handful of good restaurants within a short walk.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Dakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Dakar

Address: Ave Abdoulaye Fadiga | BP 2073, Dakar 18524, Senegal
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Dakar 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Dakar is located in the central business district, looking across to Goree Island, 5 minutes walk from the Place de l Independence and 15 km from Leopold Sedar Senghor International Airport (free shuttle service). The hotel features 245 airconditioned rooms including two suites, a bar, a restaurant, meeting rooms, a swimming pool and a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, ACCOR and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Dakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Dakar Hotel Dakar
Dakar Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Dakar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.