We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formidable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cabane du Pecheur

La Cabane du Pecheur
Plage de Ngor | BP 8 679, Dakar, Senegal
+221 33 820 76 75
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 122 Restaurants in Dakar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $41
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Consider your restaurant as your second home. Simplicity and convenience, these are our priorities. Come with friends, family, and enjoy the beautiful landscape by the sea, overlooking the island of Ngor. Enjoy the freshness of our fish caught directly by local fish wholesalers or directly by customers of our fishing center Atlantic Evasion. If you love fish, you'll love La Cabane du Pecheur!
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Formidable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband and I went to La Cabane du Pecheur a few weeks back and loved it. The seafood here is fantastic- amongst the best I have ever tasted and definitely the best in Dakar. The service was impeccable and the host, Jeremy is attentive and welcoming. One reviewer recommended bringing a coat as the restaurant is situated in a cooler part of the beach and I would agree this comment. Nevertheless, the restaurant has several heat warmers and I found that nothing seems to be too much trouble for the host. We will certainly be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy F, Gérant at La Cabane du Pecheur, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you Swati for your comment !
We will be really happy to see you again with your husband !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    36
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent fish restaurant, bring a coat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The locals say that this is the best fish restaurant in Dakar, and I think they are right. The fish is fresh, sometimes caught just a few hours before it reaches your plate. Friendly, efficient service and very reasonable prices.
I've been to la Cabane du Pecheur in evenings January and in May. Both times it was very cold. There is no roof, and the restaurant is north-facing. The temperature is significantly lower than elsewhere in Dakar, so dress in warm clothes.
The furniture is basic, but perfectly suited to the ambiance of a fisherman's hut.
There are some pretty little chambres d'hotes (bed and breakfast rooms); a pleasant place to stay. One night I was there there was an excellent live jazz band.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy F, Gérant at La Cabane du Pecheur, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Adam,
It had been a pleasure to meet you. You're right from January to April / May nights can be really fresh... But we have now heat warmers and blankets... :)
Last Wednesday we had a Gospel Choir and I think you would have loved it !
See you on your next stay in Dakar !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Corner of France in Senegal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The restaurant is located on the beach. Inside restaurant very cozy. The interior is designed in the style of a fishing club. On the walls of the trophy fish that can be caught in the waters of the ocean , spinning . By the middle of the restaurant is worth a boat that serves as an aquarium for oysters , scallops , seabags and so on. The aquarium water is always fresh , so you can always eat fresh seafood. And now the most important thing . This menu ! The restaurant owner from Provence, and hence kitchen is the best ! Menu mainly fish and other marine life . So there are all in traditional dishes. Everything is cooked very tasty. The order does not have to wait long . All quickly and accurately with a good serving. As there is a lovely wine list ! Overall highly recommend , if you want to eat well , then you here . Prices are very reasonable . By the way , you can stay here a long time, since the hotel is here too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy F, Gérant at La Cabane du Pecheur, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Through travel, we meet good people and you are one. Great picture with your flat lobster!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nouakchott, Mauritania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss it if you are in Dakar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The fish my family and I had at La Cabane du Pecheur was wonderful: fresh and very well prepared. We had spaghetti with seafood,too, and as italians, we can affirm that the standard was very high. I suggest to everybody visiting or living in Dakar to go to La Cabane du pecheur. The service is professional and quick and the owner is very professional, too. And prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy F, Gérant at La Cabane du Pecheur, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
we don't pretend to cook spaghetti as well as Italian restaurants, but it is a pleasure to hear that!
Molto Presto Marianna !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant to eat fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Really great place to have fish. Everything is fresh and tasty (the fish I ate was fished 2 hours before) and the prices are really correct.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy F, Gérant at La Cabane du Pecheur, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant. Consider it as your second home

Cecile & Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cabane du Pecheur also viewed

Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 
Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 

Been to La Cabane du Pecheur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cabane du Pecheur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.