We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Djollof” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Djoloff

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dakar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Djoloff
Save
You added Hotel Le Djoloff to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 rue Nani, Dakar, Senegal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Dakar
Accra
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Le Djollof”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Was here for about a week and enjoyed every single minute of it! The staff are great and very helpful, my French is very basic but staff are patient and will go out of their way to make you comfortable and your stay enjoyable. Momoudu was particularly a blast and took me on a personal tour of downtown Senegal and several monuments.

Location is great, not on the sea but thats just a couple minutes walk and you can watch the local fishermen bringing in and displaying for sale the catch of the day. You can also catch a glimpse of real boat making in progress. Another 10 minute walk and you can visit a small tourist market. Note, the sales guys in the markets are friendly but quite aggressive. Make sure you bargain!! Whatever the price, offer 20% of what they're asking.

Back to the hotel! The most intriguing for me was the transparent landing on the staircase, brilliant idea, the illusion of 'no floor' threw me back a couple times. The rooms are real cozy, elegant and bathrooms clean. The rooftop restaurant is brilliant and you can enjoy watching life in the corniche go by whilst enjoying the great meals or exquisite tapas, the curry d'aubergines were my favorite! Gotta get that receipe. The restaurant staff are on hand with recommendations but all my meals were off the menu and gosh just great?

I can't imagine being better treated in Senegal. This is the best place to be! If you're new in Senegal get Jeanjacques or Mamoudu to give you tips on moving around town. There's no pool, Gym, garden or grounds but it's right in bustling corniche area and the neighbors are warm.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floor with a view of the sea :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
18
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Djoloff for almost two weeks during a month-long trip to Senegal. The staff is sooo friendly and helpful, especially Mamadou at the front desk. Madame Ferrie, who runs the restaurant at the Djoloff, really made our stay special and the kitchen staff worked hard to accommodate our needs. They even made special cakes for us for our goodbye dinner. We stayed in many hotels in different cities around Senegal but the Djoloff was, by far, my favorite. The bathrooms were modern and the hotel even had cable tv.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and it was a loooong walk up three flights of a circular staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely hotel with a pleasant open-air restaurant. The suite my daughter and I occupied was spotless. Staff is friendly and honest. However, for a non-French speaking guest, even simple requests at the front desk become exciting opportunities for miscommunication. As long as you or a member of your traveling party speaks the language, you'll love this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The hotel is fine and the roof terrace is quite pretty. I was disappointed to find my room full of mosquitoes when I arrived. I recommend that you request a room with screens and with mosquito netting around the bed. To their credit, the staff did try to make reparations.

Room Tip: Ask for screens on your windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

First time in Dakar and thus Djollof is my only hotel experience. I chose it because tripadvisor reviews have been glowing. However I found the hotel to be an oddity. Be careful if you book and pre-pay a comfort double. You may be taken to a regular double as we were and then have to struggle to get the message through, even with voucher in hand. Also the hotel is an acoustical nightmare. All sounds are amplified up and down stair cases and from streets. The restaurant is especially noisy on some nights. Room sizes and shapes vary quite a bit as do bathrooms. The latter can be okay or just plain nasty. The front desk accepts valuables for safe-keeping but the key to the safe goes home at days end with the desk manager!!! Restaurant meals also vary, from good to so-so.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet location and that means away from street noise and on the second floor so that you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

First time in Dakar and this place was recommended, I was not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and eager to help with restaurant suggestions and setting up taxis. The room was very charming with a comfy bed and nice TV. The bar/restaurant on the roof was cute but over priced. Not the cheapest place to stay by any means but if you want to spoil yourself in Dakar this is the place to go.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful stay at Hotel Djoloff. Thank you Hotel Djoloff! Excellent staff, clean rooms, delicious food and very accessible to the Corniche. Very close to restaurants and taxicabs. The owner was very friendly and we were able to stay past checkout time for an evening flight. Would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Corner suite was roomy and able to accommodate family member who is studying abroad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Djoloff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Djoloff

Address: 7 rue Nani, Dakar, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Dakar
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Djoloff 3*
Number of rooms: 24

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Djoloff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.