We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Moroccan in Dakar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Ryad

Le Ryad
28, route des meridien presient, Dakar, Senegal
33 820 94 69
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 111 Restaurants in Dakar
Price range: $27 - $33
Cuisines: African, Moroccan
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dakar, Senegal
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Moroccan in Dakar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Great tagines- main courses run about 6500 CFA. The interior really makes you feel like you have stepped outside of Dakar. Harcha is served with the meal and the staff is really great and attentive. I would only recommend that you bring some mosquito repellent since there are mosquitoes that always seem to be in there. Still, don't let that deter you. Highly recommend the tagine de mer. Delicious.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    29
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Senegal
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Service is a little slow, but the food is great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a Morrocan restaurant whose patrons tend to be late night diners. Although the restaurant is open at 7PM, business does not pick up until after 10PM. The food is tasty and the portions are ample. The menu has a variety to please most palettes.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cozy Dinner Spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Very nice service in a warmly decorated settting. I had a nice apricot chicken tagine here but left a little hungry as it did not come with an accompaniment. The dinner rolls are delicious!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Little Marocco in Dakar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Le Ryad was one of the first restaurants I visited after arrival and has become a regular. Food is excellent and service is friendly and good. Recently I had them cater for a function at my house and apart from a minor misunderstanding my guests and myself were very impressed.
Whether you want a good meal or if you are looking for a good caterer - keep Le Ryad in mind!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food with authentic atmosphere and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I loved my first ever Moroccan dining experience - the food was delicious, the decor and tableware etc. conjured up Morocco and the waiter was efficient and very knowledgeable about the different dishes. Prices were reasonable for this expensive part of the city.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Ryad also viewed

Dakar, Dakar Region
 
Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 

Been to Le Ryad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Ryad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.