We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice for Dakar visitors and Buisnesses.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrou-Bi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Terrou-Bi to your Saves list
Terrou-Bi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Martin Luther King, Dakar 1179 , Senegal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Dakar
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good choice for Dakar visitors and Buisnesses.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is a very good choice for Dakar visitors. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom is 5-star and the hotel is architecturally nice, stretching along the private beach, all well designed and maintained. Staff is polite and quick.

Room Tip: Sea view is good however in the afternoon very hot due to sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terroubi, Directeur Marketing at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
The Terrou-Bi Hotel is proud to be your ally for your business trip in Dakar. Thanl you for your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    57
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
26
16
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I was there for a business trip and the experience was good. The rooms were quite new and very confortable, like any major business hotels. The WIFI connectivity was good and the swimming pool too. It is a good location next to the beach and next to major consulates and embassies. I could be going back with my famliy for a Dakar visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille C, Marketing Director at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We appreciate your kind compliments and will be very happy to welcome you with your family or for another business trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel scene in Dakar has really improved in recent years, and the Terrou-Bi is one of the places that has provided a new option to business and leisure travelers. I was there on business, but I can imagine taking my family as well: the rooms were comfortable, new, and clean, and the beach outside the hotel is unique to central Dakar area hotels (not the only hotel with a beach, but this one is protected - calm for kids to swim in, clean, and has plenty of beach leisure amenities). The staff were great - representing the very best of friendly and helpful Senegalese. I travel to Dakar often and will be torn about where to stay next (as there are a couple of good hotels there now) - but the Terrou-Bi will definitely be on my list.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille C, Marketing Director at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
The Terrou-Bi Team is very proud to make you live a unique experience in Dakar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I've stayed in a number of Dakar hotels on business but this one was just right. A cheaper and nicer hotel than the one next door, with a good numbers of places to eat. Their grilled prawns are to die for! Top notch! Will come for sure.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view - very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a really gorgeous place, yet didn't feel as chichi as Alkima. It overlooks the water and on the first level, you can walk out and look over the water and at the beach. There's also a nightclub there. Upstairs is an indoor restaurant and they have a modest bar, but an amazing bartender who creates fantastic concoctions. I ate here as part of a special event so I didn't order off the menu, but I found out later that what I ordered, they do have on the menu. I had a salad followed by the grouper. It was very good, of course fresh and cooked very well! It's a nice room, but people were there in tee shirts as well as more nicely-dressed.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We paid what I consider to be an astronomical price for this hotel as an add-on to cruise. We stayed over New Year for three nights, which might partly account for the very high price. The room (sea-view) was very nice, a good size, a huge bed with good bedding, and a nice bathroom with bath and separate shower, good towels and toiletries. We had a nice little balcony with a table and chairs. The breakfast was good - an extensive buffet, though there were no breads which were to our taste - we'd have liked wholemeal, or a brown bread that wasn't sweet. However, when in Dakar....! Incidentally, when we went to breakfast on 1st Jan there were hardly any staff available to serve us, and we had to be early as we were off out on a tour for the day.
We had two major issues - the food was of very variable quality. One lunch time I ordered a Calzone Pizza, and when I cut it open a raw egg spilled out. Of the dozens of staff standing round nobody seemed to care, and I had to say that I did not intend to pay for it, otherwise they'd have happily put it on my bill, even though I asked them to take it away. Another day, two of us ordered Club Sandwiches which were truly dreadful - we can confidently say they were the worst we have had anywhere in the world, but when we complained they were just taken away, no apology, and they appeared on the bill. None of the many staff seemed to have any authority to sort things out to our satisfaction. There were very few Brits staying in the Hotel, and we seemed to get a reputation as complainers, because we refused to quietly put up with things that were wrong. The reception manager was quite sarcastic to me before we left. This was not good, and made me uncomfortable and embarrassed. Most of the other staff were polite and pleasant, if sometimes ineffectual.
On New Year's Eve the three restaurants had Gala Meals, the cheapest being over 100 Euros, and no other food was available. We organised our own party for 4 with room service food, and we must say the staff were helpful in organising this for us.
None of us would be keen to stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view room was very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terroubi, Marketing Director at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments we will consider them so you have a pleasant stay in our hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Relaxed place to stay with a nice private, sandy beach... next to the Radisson Blue... charming staff, that works there already since many years... get a sea-side room with the perfect view over the ocean... since more then 20 years known for its great cuisine.... room prices can be negotiated... best value for your money...

Room Tip: seaside has best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrou-Bi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrou-Bi

Address: Boulevard Martin Luther King, Dakar 1179 , Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dakar
#5 Business Hotel in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Terrou-Bi 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrou-bi hotel is a luxury hotel with a private beach, warmed pool, 3 restaurants & bars inlcuding a gourmet restaurant. This hotel is perfectly fit for your professional meetings & events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Terrou-Bi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrou-Bi Hotel Dakar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrou-Bi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.