We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de la Corniche Ouest, Dakar 16868, Senegal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Dakar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Excellent Hotel : this hotel has excellent staff dedicated to satisfy the client. I shall come back to this place whenever I ll be in Dakar. The price seems higher for me but it's justified by the quality of services received.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Saidou K,
We are pleased to know that you found our hotel and the staff excellent and we thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. We look very much forward to welcome you back very soon in Dakar for another excellent stay with us.
With best regards,

Jorgen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    151
    34
    15
    11
See reviews for
24
38
16
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel is stylish, chic and on a par with the best of its kind in the world, but the overall effect, in colorful Dakar, is a little sterile and out of place. Staff were friendly and efficient. Rooms are excellent, leaving little to complain about, other than the absence of bed nets or screens on doors, which meant that exterior doors/windows had to be left closed with the AC on at night to keep out mosquitos. Whilst the proximity to the airport is useful, the hotel is on the flight path. The breakfast, although pricey, was outstanding - spanish hams, chorizo, smoked salmon, great patisserie, crepes with real maple syrup…well worth the spend. My bias, but I felt more comfortable at the considerably less upmarket Hotel Jardin Savana a few days later.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear CapeTownMoek,
Thank you very much for your great comments shared on Tripadvisor and for choosing to stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar. We appreciate very much your comments that we share with the staff and we look very much forward to welcome you back soon in Dakar.
With best regards,

Jorgen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Excellent place for sunset drinks. Decent prices, nice staff, very comfortable setting and beautiful view. There is often a live group playing smooth music perfect for drinks. Good selection of cocktails.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear cateecatee,
Thank you very much for sharing these nice comments regarding the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to know that you appreciated our hotel and the services. We look forward to welcome you back very soon for another excellent experience.
With best regards,

Jorgen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Walking into this hotel, you will feel a sense of relief as the view of the ocean behind the lobby, the wonderful staff and the lovely amenities sweep you off your feet.

The hotel is situated on the ocean and has one of the most breathtaking vistas of the Atlantic Ocean that I've ever seen. There is an infinity pool that seemingly stretches right into the ocean. There are lots of outdoor seating options for dining, as well as a restaurant in the adjacent mall that is accessible to hotel guests - Little Buddha.

The restaurant in the hotel is also wonderful. They have a delectable breakfast spread - everything from smoothies to cold cuts to hot breakfast items to baked goods. Truly a delight for the breakfast lover - much nicer than many other Radisson Blu breakfasts!

The gym is also nice. It's technically in the adjacent mall as well, inside the spa, and it boasts lots of equipment. I loved the treadmill the best as they are well-placed near the window, so you can work out as you watch the sun set in Dakar.

Service here is delightful, and really highlights the terranga culture of Senegal. They are very accommodating for business travellers, and one night opened the business centre late so I could print out some last-minute travel documents.

If you need a cab, the hotel contracts with a few cab drivers, but cabs are much cheaper if you hail them from outside the hotel. The hotel rates are fixed so there's no negotiation involved.

Everything was lovely about the hotel except there was a slight ant problem when I was there. Suddenly, I found there were ants in the bathroom and on my table top. They had bug spray in the room so I wasn't too troubled by this, but it just seems like something the hotel can work on.

I highly recommend this hotel, especially for families and people going on holiday. I loved it as a business traveller but in truth I could have benefited much more from the amenities if I hadn't been working!

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the first floor - people from the pool can look right into your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear PeripateticToo,
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar and appreciated all the facilities and the food quality offered. Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and also for informing us about the incident happened. The fumigation company is already taking care of that. We look very much forward to welcome you back soon for your holidays to benefit from more time to relax and enjoy our hotel.
With best regards,

Jorgen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Great modern design, unfortunate the wind facing position makes it a bit uncomfortable for evening drinks out ( winter time) . Great Gym, food good but can be pricy ( ask for the price of special dishes before ordering) and accessibility of the hotel along the new roads is a big advantage. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Staff courteous, friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Kailash R,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and specially our fitness center, the food, and felt comfortable in our rooms and that you also appreciated the professionalism of the staff. We look very much forward to welcome you back very soon.
With best regards,

Jorgen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The moment you walk in the lobby and look at the view you know you will never want to leave. Ideal for business as well as for tourist this is the best place in Dakar. It has all the facilities you need, amazing breakfast, wonderful infinity pool with view of the sea, a nice lounge area for late night drinks, an amazing japanese restaurant on location and good sized rooms. The staff are courteous, polite and very attentionate making this a true 5 star experience. The shopping mall next door allows to shop for some basics and just walk back to the hotel.
Its location is also very good as you avoid most of the rush traffic and are able to get to/from airport in about 20minutes and anywhere around town quickly.

Room Tip: take sea view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear DMEG86,
It is rewarding to read on Tripadvisor your nice comments about the hotel, the facilities offered and the staff. Feedback such as yours is a great motivator for our staff; we will share it with all staff members. We would like to take this opportunity to express our gratitude for choosing to stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Dakar. We look very much forward to seeing you back again in Dakar soon.
With best regards,

Jorgen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Excellent hotel with amazing location, exceptional service. Courteous employees, variety of food choices. Hotel exceeds expectations....really scenic while you sip a cocktail and watch the dolphins...feels like you are in a sanctuary. Sea plaza is a great location and in close proximity to other areas. Hotel even has the mall attached to it for all the shopaholics

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Tammy G,
Thank you very much for your compliments on Tripadvisor and we are very pleased that you chose Radisson Blu Hotel for your stay in Dakar. We have shared your nice comments with our staff and they were very proud and very happy to have had the opportunity to serve you. We look forward to welcome you back for another great experience.
With best regards,
Jorgen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar

Address: Avenue de la Corniche Ouest, Dakar 16868, Senegal
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
#4 Business Hotel in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Hotel Dakar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.