We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Training Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de la Corniche Ouest, Dakar 16868, Senegal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Dakar
Bamako
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Business Training Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

One of the best Hotel in Dakar near the Healthy Sea.
Design and Luxurus Rooms with a Dreamy Little Bouddah Restaurant, a Hapiness time Pool Bar and High Class Restaurant "AVENUE"
For a stay in Dakar Senegal, Radisson Blu is the best Place to be!
A professional Staff 24h/24, Congratulations and keep this Line forever!!!

Room Tip: Their Business Class Rooms are be more Benefit for us Travelers!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Many thank AltesseB!
We look forward to see you back very soon at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar.
Best regards,

Jorgen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    138
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
33
15
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Still a very new hotel in good order throughout. Excellent clean rooms, tastefully furnished, large spacious modern reception and public areas. The hotel is located about 20 minutes drive from Dakar city centre. Outside the pool area is vast and well equipped with sun loungers, sun shades etc. The pool is large offering superb views across the bay. Food was average to good and WIFI excellent. The hotel has stylish modern feel to it. I had a room over looking a road and service area, on the opposite 'ocean' side the views from the rooms are wonderful. All in all found it hard to fault this establishment, staff service was excellent with most of the team speaking French and English. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Radisson Blu is a nice modern hotel. The only thing that really lets it down is the service from staff within the hotel; all the staff are very polite and friendly but incredibly slow to do basic tasks such as getting you a drink, ordering food, laundy collection etc. If fact it is so slow it became really annoying and frustrating which detracted from the nice hotel and sea views.

Room Tip: Ask for sea or pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went to the restaurant of the Radisson Blue to spoil ourselves with what we believed would be a 5-star dinner. We shared a started, which was rather heavy on the salt and for mains we had the leg of lamb, which was great and the Casamance King Prawns. The latter were a disaster. Dry and overly expensive for what was presented we were very disappointed. When asked how we liked our dinner we praised the lamb, but gave honest feedback for the prawns. This wasn't even acknowledged. After parting with a 5-star bill payment we were even more disappointed, when the prawns resulted in a night in the bathroom !
Very disappointing and certainly not what one would expect in a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
SigDakar,
Thank you very much for your visit to "L’Avenue Restaurant" at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar!
I am really sorry to hear about your experience in our restaurant.
I would very much appreciate, if you ever visit the hotel again, that you ask for me so that I can personally discuss with you.
Best regards,

Jorgen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albufeira
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Arrived around 3 am at the Radission Blu. Surprised to note the Reception made us wait for about 30 minutes. We booked 2 rooms on half board but the hotel only had 1 on their records (1st mistake).
My room was located on the wing right next to the building site as the hotel is building an extension with some more rooms. There was no noise to disturb me in the evening but the balcony sliding door did not work at all ! During the 2 nights of our stay each time I wanted to open the balcony door, I had to call someone to have it open and again when I wanted it closed for the night. Food was excellent and the staff could not have been nicer. The garden/beach area was fantastically beautiful. On the evening before departure we settlled our bill. The next morning at 9 am and just before we were picked up to continue our trip in Senegal, we asked again at the Reception if all was in order and paid for. Yes was the answer. When we were just about to enter our transfer car, someone came running from the Reception saying we had to pay our bill (2nd mistake) ! We were amazed with so much inefficiency from the Reception and after checking the matter, they "thought" we had to pay for the halfboard meals...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

If this hotel were a self-described four star, it would be Very Good. Plusses are the oceanside view, the pool, and the restaurant food; minuses are the noise, aspects of the room, and uncontrolled poolside smoking. Overall, worth it if you're getting a good rate and need to be near the airport.

Wifi was excellent and free. My check-in was straightforward, but a companions was sent to an occupied room. Standard rooms are a modest size, grey and white, with inadequate lighting (apart from the thermostat's LED light, which shines a piercing blue, I mean Blu. Had to cover it to sleep). The window opens, which is a big plus, but mosquitoes flock in as there's no flyscreen.

The room has a comfortable bed, nice sheets, fluffy pillows, coffee- and tea-making supplies, and an iron. Sunday at 9 a.m. a window-washer appeared, balancing on the narrow ledge and wielding a squeaky squeegee. Good morning!

I had asked for a quiet room. The joke was on me: Radisson Blu sits directly in the flight path, with a cluster of flights around midnight, resuming around 0430. Proximity to the airport is useful to avoid workday traffic, but less important at the weekend.

Buffet breakfast and lunch in the main restaurant were excellent (I was on a corporate, all-inclusive rate). But in the room, ants hovered around the plastic-wrapped almond clusters and chocolate balls; staff left the tray even after the ants had penetrated the plastic defences and swarmed the treats. Two days later, a fresh tray was ant-infested even before I opened it. Radisson: best stick to the complimentary fruit plate.

At the pool, loungers are lined up shoulder-to-shoulder and if your neighbours are smoking, tant pis (too bad)! The pool guy will tick you off sharply if you try to take two towels - that wasn't so nice. The infinity pool itself is lovely, however, as is the view of the Atlantic, the lighthouse, and the weirdly Stalinist USD 27 million African Renaissance Monument.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was my first time in Senegal, I wasn't expecting too much and was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was beautiful and clean, breakfasts were good, rooms a decent size and the views were quite spectacular. Service was excellent and the staff very friendly (in saying that, I found the Senegalese to be very friendly, hospitable in general. All in all, a very pleasant business trip and hotel stay. My only negative was that the spa was a disaster. In fairness, I think it is independent of the hotel (just affiliated to it by virtue of its location). Pedicure and manicure were sub-standard (manicure lasted about 4 hours)... I stopped the beautician from waxing me as I could see that they were re-using the wax (GROSS)... it was also seriously expensive....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar

Address: Avenue de la Corniche Ouest, Dakar 16868, Senegal
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
#3 Business Hotel in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Hotel Dakar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.