We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kingz Plaza

Kingz Plaza
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kingz Plaza to your Saves list
Kingz Plaza
Villa 10504 Sacre-Ceour III VDN | Mermoz, Dakar, Senegal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 59 Dakar B&B and Inns
Banjul
1 review
“Disapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The single en-suite room was very small but clean & adequate. Definitely not value for money if compared to a travellodge. I am British, live in The gambia and have an adpted Gambian son. The booking was made through Hostel Bookers and chosen because of it's proximity to the airport. I was booked onto a midnight flight and had a 10 hour overland journey to reach the airport so wanted somewhere for my son who would be accompanying me on that part of the journey to sleep before returning overland next morning. Kingz Plaza emailed a reminder a few days before booked date and I emailed them confirming and giving them my sons details as the reservation had been made in my name. They replied. So far so good. Then we arrived hot and tired after our journey to be met at reception by a girl who couldn't speak English and had a problem understanding my son's dialect. This was the first of two bookings. The other was for my return flight the following month. She was trying to charge me for that booking which was for two rooms eventually she telephoned the manager and then showed us to a double room which was not what was booked and which my son declined as it smelt strongly of cigarettes. It took around an hour to get booked into the correct room. Next morning there was no breakfast available.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zakopane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Kingz Plaza is a very good place for low budget in Dakar.
Staffs are kindly, cleen and good atmosphere.

Only the location is not attractive. Far from the city center and close to the runway of airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This hostel is located in a quiet and safe neighborhood which you will enjoy in this crowded and busy city. Its quiet far from the city center which is no problem when using the cheap mini buses or taxis.
The staff is very helpful. Everything is clean and you find everything you need there. They serve breakfast in the restaurant but you can also find places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enugu, Nigeria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We booked a private double room with ensuite. It was nice bright and clean and an added bonus of a balcony overlooking a quiet street. Just off the VDN makes getting to the airport a short cab ride away.

The breakfast was good and relaxed. We tried the African food for the lunch and it was perfect, if you require dinner you have to preorder.

Wifi is good and solid and easy to use. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Banks are also a short ride away with CBAO and Eurobank at Foire. CBAO ATM's accept Maestro and the Eurobank has a forex facility for most African currencies.

We were very impressed and when moving onto Saly we booked in Kingzplaza's new addition there which was also very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingz Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingz Plaza

Address: Villa 10504 Sacre-Ceour III VDN | Mermoz, Dakar, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingz Plaza provides Luxury Budget Accommodation, with clean, secure, comfortable and affordable rooms in Dakar, Senegal.Dakar hotel scene offers plenty of high-end experiences. But if you don't have the cash flow to lodge at these expensive hotels, your choices can be pretty slim.Budget rooms are out there but usually in the form of unprofesional, unkept, unsecure rooms.That's where Kingz Plaza comes in, bridging the gap between the backpackers and the blue bloods. Offering luxury budget accommodation in a decent and safe environment.When you walk into the hotel you're greeted by red, blue and white deco style, representing the Kingz Plaza color scheme.The Bar Restaurant gives you a pleasant African feeling with Red, Gold and Green, DJembe chairs and tables etc...Kingz Plaza is located about 15 minutes from Leopold Sedar International Airport Dakar, with easy access to the city centre and beach areas. Night Club within a walking distance, banks, restaurants, pizzeria, mini-markets etc.Free Wi-Fi Access is available in all rooms, bar restaurant, terrace, balconies etc. Plus satellite TV in English, French, Arabic and African languages etc.All rooms at Kingz Plaza Guest House are artistically decorated in bold colours and outfitted with well-chosen art and furnishings. Each room has television, DVD/DivX Video player, working desk, in room air conditioning units, fridge, hot water, private bathroom Ensuite etc.Private, European style of accommodation, a perfect combination of the elegance and charm of a bed and breakfast with the privacy of a small hotel."The thoughtful styled furnishings, coupled with complete discretion and privacy make it ideal for an affordable romantic escape, but friends traveling together won\'t feel out of place." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Kingz Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingz Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.