We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Virage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Le Virage to your Saves list
Hotel Le Virage
, Dakar, Senegal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Dakar
Merksplas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in this hotel. Distance from the airport to the hotel is about 5' by car.
We received upgraded rooms (suites) which were OK. Clean, spacious but no wifi reception and only cold water available.
Complaints at the reception resulted only in "we will advise our technician".
The second night they finally came to repair the cold water issue.
The breakfast was below all standards! Only coffee or thee, croissant and bread with jam or choco, cheese or ham. No fruit, no milk products, eggs had to be paid supplementary. To end with a small positive note, the fruitjuice was great.
Again in this hotel.... no thanks.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
7
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The cab initially took us to the former "Virage", we booked a suite to make sure we would get a decent room in Dakar close to the airport. A horrible strong smell of toilet freshener was psrayed in the corridor and our room, certainly to cover a bad smell. We arrived in an overrated dump, with a dirty bathroom containing a random shelf that could not close with some hair in it!!!!! The tv was also on when we entered the room. We decided we could not stay there and foundf out theire zqs another virGfter at t 1 minute away. We then cancelled our previous booking and went to the renovated Virage. Even if it was less of a dump, it was still very disappointing for the price. There was no hot water, the bed and bed linen were dodgy. A lot of of needs to be done...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel is more than just a bargain, though it certainly is that. It has a wonderfully friendly and helpful staff from the doormen to the receptionists to the cleaner. It was remarkably clean. What a delightful enterprise!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on July 3,2012 at 11pm and I got a nice ocean front room basic room for 19,000cfa which is around $35 per night, the regular price for the basic room is 36,000cfa. which is $67 per night , which is still cheap. Its about a 4 star hotel. I live in the U.S. But I talked her down on the rate cause the hotel was very empty. The taxi rate was 1000, I have now learned how to negotiate like they do. lol. When they tell you a price, you say no, and give them your price, it they so no to your price, then act like you are walking away. Chances are they will say ok or tell you to come back. (If they really need the money). This works anywhere you go. I couldn't enjoy opening up my window to feel the ocean breeze because the mosquito"s rush in and will hide out in your room. Bring plenty of spray and tissue for the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

The hotel is very clean, the environment safe and conveniently close to the Airport for business travellers on transit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

When arriving in Dakar, it is often in the middle of the night. Even to the seasoned traveller, what awaits on the outside of the airport doors is not a pretty sight, especially at 4 am!

We have stayed a few times at Le Virage hotel -- a 2 min taxi ride from the airport.

The rooms are clean, the staff very friendly, the decor fine, it's close to the airport and has a fair price (vs. the "top" Dakar hotels).

Jad Chaoul, the director, is friendly and very helpful.

PLEASE remember that the REAL taxi fare from airport to the hotel should be about 1000 - 1500 cfa (we paid 3000 cfa just so we could get to bed! The driver wanted 7000 and we heard about a lady who was charged 20,000 cfa!! BE CAREFUL!).

Call or email the hotel to have them send you a taxi (speak with Jad).

I am happy to recommend Hotel Le Virage, even if it is just for the night you arrive.

The website:

[-]

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
0.6 mi away
Sunugal Village-Hotel
Sunugal Village-Hotel
#11 of 41 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar
1.5 mi away
La Demeure
La Demeure
#2 of 41 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Madrague Ngor
La Madrague Ngor
#13 of 41 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#7 of 41 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Residence Dakar
La Residence Dakar
#3 of 41 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Virage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Virage

Address: , Dakar, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Virage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Virage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.