We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced normal restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Toukouleur

Toukouleur
122, Rue Mousse Diop, Dakar, Senegal
+221 33 821 51 93
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 122 Restaurants in Dakar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced normal restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The food is plainly normal, and the service is not extraordinary. Welcome to come if you want to spend big money on average food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
686 reviews 686 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
487 helpful votes 487 helpful votes
“Quiet atmosphere in busy Dakar and good food - Très bonne adresse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I like that you can see the cooks prepare your food. In the back there is a room that you can privatize for parties.
They serve very good French food with fresh local ingredients. Nice service. We went more than once on our 2-year stay.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Inventive and delicious cuisine at an excellent value. So delicious I went twice for dinner during my week-long stay in Dakar. Most memorable? Grouper (fr. badèche) on an creamy artichoke reduction accompanied by carrot purée and grilled eggplant and peppers... Red snapper in a coconut curry marinade... Gambas in a mouthwatering citrus sauce... Spiced mango sorbet...

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolle, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

One of the best restaurants in town, lovely setting

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place in the middle of city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

The place is nice. Even though we were in a corner, hidden from the sight of the waiters
The service was a little bit messy. There were delays bringing the wine after we got the starter. Then we finished the starter and they brought the bread.
The food was excellent. We ate meat ad it was delicious!
The atmosphere was OK. They have karaoke that seemed very funny!
Food excelent, service average.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toukouleur also viewed

Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 
Dakar, Dakar Region
 

Been to Toukouleur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toukouleur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.