We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Faidherbe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Faidherbe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Faidherbe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Faidherbe & Raffenel, Dakar, Senegal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 39 hotels in Dakar
Chicago,Illinois
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent a total of 4 nites here last week. It is located in a central downtown location, Good wifi reception, food in the restaurant, nice pool, very clean rooms. (hotel is old but clean) Staff really went out of their way to be more than helpful to us (2 females traveling alone) and spent a great deal of time with us to ensure that we fully understood what to expect while touring, costs of taxis,money exchange rates, etc. The manager personally helped us with a few computer problems that we had spending more than an hour with us until we had worked out all the kinks.
This is Africa and we were aware of most of the scams and theft opportunities which we did not find different than many other countries we have visited in Africa. We felt very safe and taken care of by the staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

What I can say about this hotel is just this: a bad experience. The hotel is located in a popular area of ​​Dakar where it is dangerous go out not only during the night but also during the day. I was robbed of my mobile during the day in front of the hotel entrance. The hotel for the price that you have to pay is really expensive and the service is really really bad .... especially the professionalism of the staff who work there-people without experience and training
If you look for a good hotel in Dakar choose another hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Centrally located, every taxi driver does know it. 5 minutes walk to ferry for Goree.
Really very friendly staff, multilingual even German. Breakfast buffet with rolls, good croissants orange, mango and guava jam, cook prepares eggs on order.
Good restaurant, did eat there every day and did enjoy.
Whole hotel and rooms are very clean.
Air condition with remote control in rooms. Good and stabile wifi all over the building. TV with CNN, on request you can get a frigo to your room but as lobby bar and restaurant serve drinks at the pool not really a need for own fridge.
The area is peaceful and full of life. It is safe even in night to walk around. Senegalese people are extremely friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

This is a very good hotel with very nice staff except for one barmaid by the name of "Angelique". For this woman the customers are a nuisance and treats them in a very discourteous manner. I was residing in this hotel for nearly three months and I encountered several embarrasing experiences with this barmaid and on the last day of my stay, this person verbally assaulted me for asking restaurant staff to bring in a salad to accompany my drink. Once before she also tried to forge my bar bill and swindle out some money and I brought this to the notice of the management.. I hope that the owners/Managers of this Hotel would read this article and take necessary action against employees such as these in order to prevent this good hotel getting a very bad reputation. KAAP Germany

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

Overall, The Faidherbe is a decent hotel in Dakar.

The hotel is centrally located and offers very reasonable room rates. It's a 5 to 10 minute walk to get to the port and within walking distance to the markets.

The rooms are basic but relatively clean and air conditioned. There is a pool behind the hotel on the fenced-in hotel grounds. The hotel has a small business center (1 computer) that you can use on request. However, you may have to wait some time as the desk clerks need to set up the Internet for you. As they have other tasks to tend to, it could take a while before they get to you.

The hotel has a decent restaurant on the second floor and a small bar on the first floor. The meals and drinks are inexpensive. We ate dinner there twice and were satisfied.

However, we did encounter a few problems. First, they did not give us the suite we requested as it was occupied. We were told that it would be available the next day but it wasn't. Moreover, there were long waits for the check-in and check-out. Clients must be patient and prepared to wait for the internet, the room, the check-out...

Nonetheless, if I were to return to Dakar, I would stay at the Faidherbe as they offer some of the best rates.

  • Liked — the rates
  • Disliked — slow service
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Faidherbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faidherbe

Address: Av Faidherbe & Raffenel, Dakar, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 hotels in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Faidherbe 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Faidherbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Faidherbe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.