We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpha Palace Hotel

Alpha Palace Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kigali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpha Palace Hotel
Save
You added Alpha Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Boulevard de l'Oua, Kigali 2632, Rwanda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Kigali
Bristol
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“OK for a night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed here for one night having flown into Kigali. It was about 5 - 10 mins from the airport so very handy, but there was nothing exciting about the place. My room was basic but acceptable, no air con but this wasn't needed when I was there. The bathroom was rather poor, but it all worked, the water was hot after a while, and fine for a shower.

I didn't eat in the hotel, check out was straight forward but £50 for the night was moderate for what it was but still I suppose OK for a capital city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nyeri, Kenya
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

It's a convenient place for particularly first time visitors to Kigali due to the good proximity to the airport. The food, service & rooms are fine and the small pool is a welcome addition. I was disappointed that the VISA machine was non functional but all in all it a good hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the western end particularly on Friday nights when its party time next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed one night here to catch an early flight out of Kigali airport the next day.

The situation is good for the airport but fairly noisy. The staff were not friendly and the room was badly maintained.

Although the bathroom had a bath, the hot water tank was only sufficient for a brief shower and even that would flood the bathroom possibly bedroom.

The restaurant was OK but not special.

The hotel's best feature seems to be its swimming pool, which we did not have time to use.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

I spent two separate nights there. One en route to Agakera and one prior to flying out of Kigali. It is very well located for both being close to the airport and Agakera road. About 3 km out of town, closer to the airport than Chez Lando and off the main road giving it the potential to be a little quieter. I say potential because the lack of carpet in the building and lofty ceilings for a modern building make it a bit of a noise chamber.
The rooms are ensuite but quite basic for all that - spacious with DSTV but the furniture is cheap and many a room has the odd cracked window. Each room has a balcony. Some electric fittings are a bit loose and not all light fittings have light bulbs and shades are a luxury! But it has a restaurant (service a little slow), a fair sized pool (a bit tired but OK), a little internet cafe, a gym and views across Kigali. So it does well for amenities and is quite a popular place but is more student hostel than hotel in ambience, poor finish and a bit scruffy but on the whole clean and at $70 per night better value than many similar places in Kigali.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpha Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Palace Hotel

Address: Boulevard de l'Oua, Kigali 2632, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpha Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.