We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gorillas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gorillas to your Saves list
Hotel Gorillas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue des Parcs | Kiyovo, Kigali 1782, Rwanda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Kigali
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

A group of 17 of us stayed here for about a week and we loved it. The breakfast every morning was amazing, they even offered to have coffee and toast for us on a day where we were leaving at 5am. The rooms were nice (extra plus we had hot water every day) and even though mine overlooked the street it wasn't loud. The people who worked here just really went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    10
    10
    1
See reviews for
4
7
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We also had a problem with mold in our room. But the manager changed us into a much better room the next morning without us even asking for it. We also were surprised there were no fans but a wonderful employee named Saturday ran out late at night and bought us one. After those adjustments were made our stay was very good. The grounds are quite serene and pleasant. The dinners were consistently good. The breakfast included the sweetest fresh pineapple I ever ate. The dining room is run efficiently and food arrived promptly. We found the hotel staff gracious, supportive, kind and the attention we got from Saturday was above and beyond. He is a thoughtful professional. We also used the services of Emmanuel to drive us to town and to see the memorial sites. He is a solid guide, and knows all of Kigali and knows what sites to bring to your attention. It's a good place, with a solid staff. If you have a problem, tell them, they will fix it promptly!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paolo
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

This place isn't exactly cheap. The rooms are small and dirty. My colleague shared his bed with cockroaches. There's a bar next door which is very loud and plays music until 2 or 3 in the morning.

Having said that, the staff are nice and the food is good - although you have to wait ages for it (a common complaint in Rwanda).

It's very well located, but my advice would be to spend more and stay at the Serena or spend less and stay at the Iris or stay out of the centre.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

After a week of staying in basic Tanzanian 2-3 star hotels and camping, we chose this hotel as a place to connect to the internet ("smoking fast!) said my 13 year old niece, have hot showers, clean rooms and a good dining meal. It was a comfortable place to stay before another few days on the road into Uganda. Like many places in Africa though, the faucet was loose and the shower was luke warm at night. We did have a very nice dinner in the restaurant and breakfast too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Overpriced! Terrible Breakfast! Noisy at all the times! Never again! Creepy room!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

OK, I was working for an NGO on a project I believed in so wanted to stay in a mid-range hotel to keep costs down. I sometimes stay top notch and also completely rough so I am happy with either as long as the place delivers what it promises. Frankly, everything in this place was broken. The room had no air conditioning but they promised fans - fine but the fan was bust and kept falling over and they had no replacement. The Wi Fi was a non-starter so they promised a Lan connection in their 'business centre'...well one look at that convinced me i would never work and yes, unfortunately I was right. Cables that were frayed, connections hanging out of the wall...needless to say no connection. So, reluctantly, I could stand no more after one night and checked out to pay top dollar at The Serena (yes I paid the extra myself but it was totally worth it).

Oh, and by the way, if you think the name of this hotel suggests it is anything to do with Rwanda's famous apes, you would be wrong, they live two hours away although I reckon a couple of them maybe came to Kigali and decided to set up this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

Decent enough location and a pleasant enough 10 mins walk in to the city. Take it easy though, especially if you're just getting used to the altitude as it's uphill in to Kigali.

The hotel itself is pretty good . . . . . friendly, welcoming, polite helpful staff, but the rooms could do with a bit of work. I stayed here twice, at the beginning and end of my trip, and each time the room had it's share of lightbulbs that had blown or little things that needed fixing. There is some sort of mould / damp problem in places and if you're looking for more than a place to stop off for a night or two then you might prefer somewhere else.

The one diamond about this place is the restaurant. Great food and brilliant staff. Even if you decided to stay elsewhere it'd be worth the effort stopping by for a meal here one night.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gorillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gorillas

Address: Rue des Parcs | Kiyovo, Kigali 1782, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gorillas 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gorillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorillas Hotel Kigali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gorillas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.