We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and amazing chapatis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mubwiza Courts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mubwiza Courts to your Saves list
Mubwiza Courts
KG 688 | kacyiru kigali, Kigali 34433, Rwanda   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kigali
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and amazing chapatis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Mubwiza is a simple, comfortable guest house quite near the main business areas of Kigali. The long front porch, on which you can enjoy your generous complimentary breakfast, has a fantastic view across one of Kigali's many valleys. And Rose, it's manager, is just wonderful. She's friendly and warm, and works incredibly hard to ensure guests have everything they need. Be sure to ask Rose to help you connect with a local taxi driver (as many don't have English or French) who will be prompt and give you a good rate! Other perks include that the internet is fast, and shower water pressure is strong. Oh, and the chapatis that came with our breakfast are, bar none, the best I've ever eaten. (Having worked around East Africa for years you can trust that I've eaten a LOT of chapatis in my day!) Mubwiza's are fluffy, not too greasy, and delicious.

The place is not trying to be fancy, and does have the feel of a B&B. It's just a clean, quiet, and comfortable house. The private room-with-bathroom that I occupied for three nights was plenty big enough for two if I'd been with my partner. My colleague's equivalent room had a VERY soft (saggy) mattress that he found not conducive to good sleep, but mine was fine. For the price, it was very satisfactory for me, someone who wants to be able to sleep OK, access emails without horrible frustration, and wash my long hair under a hot shower that's more than a dribble.

Overall, Mubwiza was quite comfortable and will be my home-away-from-home in Kigali from now on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
2
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I spent some time at Mubwiza Courts during a month long trip to Rwanda in October this year. It is in a wonderful location with superb views of Kigali, which looked especially good at night while relaxing on the balcony. During both my visits to the hotel, I was looked after in true African style by my hosts, who saw to my every need! Nothing was too much trouble for them, and they were always on hand to ensure that everything was just perfect for me during my stay. The food was exquisite and freshly prepared by their wonderfully talented chef and the menu had plenty to choose from. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, but I have to make a special mention to the manger Rose. The attention she gave to me, and the other guests during my stay was first class, and we were very obviously her top priority, always greeted by her beautiful smile and willingness to help. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a spacious, comfortable, clean and peaceful haven, away from the noise and bustle of Kigali, at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This place feels like a B&B with it's location inside a house. The rooms were small, the nightstand lamp had no bulb and the bathroom could use a good scrubbing. The view from the front of the house is wonderful and looks upon the main hill in Kigali. The food was sub-par and many things on their menu were not available. Make sure to order at least an hour ahead of when you want to eat. The staff is what makes this place enjoyable. They welcomed us to their establishment and packed us breakfast to go and had it ready for our ridiculously early 4:30am departure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've lived and travelled in Africa for four years, and affordable accommodations are extremely hard to find. On a recent trip to Rwanda, I decided to try out Mubwiza Courts, as it was one of the few places within my price range and because I wanted my own private room and bathroom, which Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel does not provide. I'm glad I chose Mubwiza. The rooms are simple but clean. It's not far from the center of town and is near the U.S. Embassy. By far, the greatest selling point of the place: the staff! Everyone I interacted with there was incredibly nice, welcoming, and accommodating. Bertha, the owner, greets guests and makes them feel at home. She gave me her cell phone number in case I needed help giving taxis directions. Rose manages the place most of the time and I've never encountered anyone as helpful, friendly, and welcoming as she is. Even when I had to wake her up at 2am to open the gate for me, she still had a smile on her face.

The downside: There is no fan or AC in the room, and the ventilation wasn't great, so the room was a little stuffy at times. But Kigali cools off at night, so opening your window (assuming there's proper ventilation) is usually sufficient. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the main street where you can catch a taxi, but the neighborhood is safe and the staff can also call a taxi to pick you up at the hotel. I also appreciated having some ear plugs; the hotel is quiet, but because you'll most likely want to leave your window open for ventilation, noises outside may wake you up in the morning.

All in all, I would definitely stay there again, mostly because of the people I met there and because it's the best value for money in that price range. If you're looking for affordable accommodations in Kigali, especially if you want your own room and bathroom (which some of the competitors don't provide), then this is your best bet!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've been to Kigali several times, and this hotel made my experience the best it has ever been. Mubwiza Courts is an oasis inside of Kigali with warm service, nice rooms, and a large front yard to sit for a long breakfast, play board games or simply enjoy the view. It's the best place to stay at a great value; I'll be staying here on every return trip to Kigali!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night and were really impressed with the high quality facilities and service. We stayed in a dorm which was modern, spacious and clean, and had a balcony with a lovely view of Kigali. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Kigali.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The owner and staff were very welcoming, Everything I needed was there. A real home from home. A quiet and peaceful place to stay, the rooms are very comfortable, it's convenient for Kigali city, the place is far enough away to relax and unwind, without the noise from Kigali city centre.
If I'm in Kigali I will be returning, I guess that says it all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mubwiza Courts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mubwiza Courts

Address: KG 688 | kacyiru kigali, Kigali 34433, Rwanda
Phone Number:
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mubwiza Courts offers affordable and superbly comfy accommodation to tourists, business executives, and vacationers. It is situated in the beautiful Kigali suburb Kacyiru and is a perfect location as it is in close proximity to the most desired and visited locations in Rwanda. Family owned and operated, Mubwiza Courts provides an affordable place to stay within a few miles of downtown Kigali. Mubwiza Courts contains 8 double/single rooms and one elegant 8 sleeper dorm room with four poster beds draped with tulle for privacy. All rooms come with fresh linens and breakfast; the double/single rooms have a private bathroom. The guesthouse has a barbecue area for guests to use. On-site parking is available. Guests can arrange airport transfers with the hotel. The guest house can host upto 18 - 28 guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mubwiza Courts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.