We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian Food & Fast Wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Horse

White Horse
Opposite Ecole Belge, Kigali, Rwanda
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 79 Restaurants in Kigali
Cuisines: European
Description: Great bar restaurant in downtown Kigali. Nice covered eating area with about 20 tables outside, and a cool bar inside, with live music at weekends. Probably the best place to eat and take in live music in central Kigali.
Restaurant details
Description: Great bar restaurant in downtown Kigali. Nice covered eating area with about 20 tables outside, and a cool bar inside, with live music at weekends. Probably the best place to eat and take in live music in central Kigali.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food & Fast Wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I came here for lunch and had the buffet (RF 5000). It had a great selection of fresh salad, vegetables, pasta salad, chicken, fish, and other delicious sides. The price also includes either a soda or bottle of water. Also the wifi here is excellent! I was even had a connection while skyping. They also have live music every Friday night at 9:30.... I didn't go, but heard it was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good service and decent music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The pizza restaurant we usually stop at was very crowded, so we detoured toward downtown and stopped at White Horse. Some people say that the name will be changing soon, but White Horse was recognized by Tripadvisor, so that's it
We had a 9 month old with us, who slept comfortably through the meal. As usual here, every pizza has a number and a different name. You don't just order a pie and list your toppings. You need to read through several pages of variations and find the one that comes closest to what you want. Our choices that evening included #10 with ham, olives, capers, green peppers, another pizza with spinach, a calzone (daughter never did say what was in the filling) and a beef filet. The beer was cold and arrived promptly. The meals were served with not too much delay. The pizza crusts were quite good.
A band started to play around nine PM as we were finishing. Noise ordinance required that te windows and doors be shut. We were on the patio and that softened the music to a comfortable level for us.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I must say, when I saw the White Horse Pub, I was expecting standard pub fare. As it was, I was surprised to find a large menu of pasta and pizza. Everything that I ate there was excellent. Other than Italian food, there is also a decent selection of African dishes, to include Poulet Yassa. On weekend evenings, the DJ starts spinning up excellent dance tunes. A very nice place that I have visited often and plan to return to.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good pizza, nice service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Nice place in city centre to have pizza. The seating outside is ok, lacks a bit of sphere. But the pizza's are good. Do ask if all the ingredients are available!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good food in the middle of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The White Horse is right in the middle of town opposite the Belgian School. As such it is a great place to go for a snack during the day. It is also a good place to go to get away from the hustle and bustle of the day. Because of it's location, parking can be an issue but the Kigali City parking attendants will do what they can to help you.

This is a venue for live music during the evening, particularly at weekends so can get quite busy. The food and service here is good but it can give the appearance of organised chaos when there is a band playing. There is the usual mix of pizza, pasta and steak. My wife thought that the pizza was the best she has had in Kigali.

We will be going back both for the food and the music.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Horse also viewed

Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 

Been to White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.