We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not honor my reservation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inside Afrika

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inside Afrika to your Saves list
Inside Afrika
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   46 Rue de Lac Mpanga, Kigali 1933, Rwanda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 89 Kigali B&B and Inns
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Did not honor my reservation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I have lived in Rwanda for a year and really wanted to try this new hotel, so I booked it for family the night they arrived in Kigali. Unfortunately, when we arrived, they acted as if they did not have our reservation (even though I called 2 times to confirm). In addition, instead of admitting they lost the reservation, they then said that a man was sick and could not check out as scheduled...I found this a little suspect, as another "trip advisor" reviewer wrote that the same thing happened to her. I have never written a bad review on anything on trip advisor, but if Inside Afrika wants to be considered a top-rate boutique hotel, they need to get their reservation system worked out. Thankfully, we knew the area, and booked another hotel on our own, but I would not recommend booking here if you are coming from outside the country, as they may lose your reservation.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    5
    10
    4
See reviews for
3
11
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed here two nights, and it was the best room of my three week tour. Beautiful view across a quiet pool (no one swam in it, more like a reflecting pond - but you can use it). Nice staff. And the internet worked all the time! Good breakfast. Safe location, with a security guard on duty. Nice decorations, and not threadbare and run down like several places I stayed at. Good location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

After three months teaching in Rwanda my husband joined me and we stayed in Inside Afrika room 103. It was glorious. The pool was right at our door and I swam every chance I got. After many cold showers, the hot shower was nirvana. And swimming was heavenly. Loved the breakfast. The staff are wonderful. So glad to de stress there for a few days.

Room Tip: 103. next to pool amd breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of three couple visiting Kigali. One of our party booked this boutique hotel for our four night stay and it was fantastic! Great and friendly staff, located within walking distance of the city centre and a number of restaurants. Safe neighborhood (the whole city seemed very safe at all hours with no cautionary tales of after dark areas to avoid). Great value for money, great rooms and delicious complimentary breakfast.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I arrived late at night my first time in Africa to be taken to another hotel as my reservation had not been honored. Also worth noting is that I was told that my taxi to Ruhengeri would be 400.00. I knew from a friend to pay 100 dollars max for a small car. I really wanted to stay here so I could wake up my first day and take a swim but I did get a good night sleep and had a wonderful dinner and breakfast at Gorilla Hotel. Gorilla is not updated but it's really friendly and has a lively scene in the open air restaurant.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

this place is really nice. the room is very big and the pool nice and clean. breakfast is a bit poor....
the decoration is very african. the personal we found was a bit indifferent, but pleasant.
there is a restaurant next door which should be good (we haven't tried it).
little things do not function....(like door locks etc), but this is rwanda.
you can hardly find anything similar in kigali for that amount of money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frnkfurt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

a very poor hotel, the location is fine, but zthe prices and the service are very poor
the breakfast is stupid and poor

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inside Afrika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inside Afrika

Address: 46 Rue de Lac Mpanga, Kigali 1933, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inside Afrika 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in one most charming neighbourhood of KIYOVU, Inside Afrika is rich in Rwandese and other African culture art. Relaxing and yet authentic, the Boutique Hotel offers 9 exclusive spacious rooms elegantly decorated in African decor. The Boutique Hotel is just 8 km from Kigali International Airport. FACILITIES: 9 Rooms, All with Flat screen and satellite TV, Free Wi-Fi, Swimming pool, Business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Inside Afrika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inside Afrika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.