We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Boulevard de L'Umuganda | Kacyiru, Kigali, Rwanda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Camping review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I camped. Camp site above bar but I always carrying ear plugs with me. Warm showers and toilets a few meters away. Bar a little expensive especially seeing you can walk 50m up the road and get the same drinks for almost half the price. Nice and central with good eating places nearby.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    82
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
1
36
56
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Perfect place to stay, very pleasant staff, clean rooms all at an affordable rate! They also have free WIFI and breakfast is inclusive. The environment is serene and just beautiful!
Spent 4 nights at the private room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jadox_Kibasha, Guest Relations Officer at Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel, responded to this review, February 7, 2015
Dear guest, it’s always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback from our visitors ,In fact much efforts are put in strengthening our facilities like the WIFI, general cleanness of rooms and around the hostel. We hope on your next visit to Rwanda you’ll spend more than 4 nights. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Only the deluxe double room was available for $60. This was more than what they told us on the phone when we called the previous night. The room was average, the bed cover was too small for the bed and the place was extremely noisy. Breakfast was pathetic (toast and some fruit), there weren't even plates left and when I asked for two, I only got one which had just been used. When we got back to our room after breakfast, the cleaning lady had entered our room with her own key and had made the bed, sprayed a horrible spray around that made me unable to breathe and almost vomit, and folded our dirty underwear. I really wasn't happy with this, especially because checkout time is 11am and this happened at 9.30 am. The reception staff apologized very friendly for this though. It's on the other end of town and for a backpackers this was definitely not worth the price, although the support for the genocide memorial is a good thing. Maybe it is worth the money when you can get a cheap bunk bed.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erfurt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Bad quality of beds (i have been there three times so it is not about ONE single bed).
Only western tourists (often in groups) with all the disadvantages this brings...
Relatively high prices - but provided they benefit a good cause (who investigates?) this is ok.
*
For the first day in Rwanda respectively Africa this is a good pick
as it is "safe" and lonely planet-style western environment,
but if you really want to "discover Rwanda", there is better choices...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, Uganda
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

When i was moving to Kigali, i never had plans to be in this place, but later i changed my mind and felt needed to discover the environment in this place, so gave it a try. and really, I had a nice time there, nice food, but the service delivery at times delayed, and some noise from other rooms. But generally a averagely nice place, and cost saving while in Kigali city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I had an amazing time at discover rwanda. The staff was really friendly and the internet was fast. It is located in a nice area and has an amazing view of Kigali from the outside chilling area. The bar is sufficiently stocked and i remember they even added a few different options that i fancied but they usually did not serve. The food is great all the receptionists are always willing to help and friendly too. Conveniently located close to several restaurants if you wish to eat out and also to several clubs if you wish to go dancing. I could not have wished for a better place to be. Plus when i left it felt like going away from home. Been here twice and will definitely be back again. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jadox_Kibasha, Guest Relations Officer at Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel, responded to this review, February 7, 2015
Dear valued guest , we happy that appreciated the services provided by our hostel, the 4G internet is super fast, and on top of good view of Kigali, we have now started Kigali City tour for our esteemed customers .We are sorry to hear that you were not served, usually customers used to serve themselves drinks but currently there’s someone responsible to serve even those who are not willing to come to the bar. I want to welcome you again, well be back...Feel at home when you’re back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hostel is everything that you would need or want from a youth hostel. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, beds are big, showers are somehow warm, there's free breakfast, wifi and a computer with internet and there's even a bar/lounge area with a great vibe. The location is good and the prices are very fair compared to other places in Kigali and Rwanda in general. Discover Rwanda is just the perfect backpackers hostel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel

Address: Boulevard de L'Umuganda | Kacyiru, Kigali, Rwanda
Phone Number:
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel - Rwandas first youth hostel - located near the centre of Kigali in Kacyiru, is the perfect place for you to start exploring the heart of Africa. The Hostel boasts great value accommodation, a fun atmosphere, excellent customer service, and a wealth of information about what to see and do. With a relaxing environment from the bar terrace, private rooms, dormitories, camping, hot showers and catering available, you are guaranteed to find just what you are looking for. Enjoy the convenience of a thoughtfully prepared breakfast on the open-air balcony overlooking the hills of Rwanda as you start your day. The hostel staff are ready to help answer any questions you may have during your stay. The Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel is a Social Enterprise of Ingabo Trading and Training Company, all profit is donated to support the Aegis Trust ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.