We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lemigo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lemigo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lemigo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 2770 | Kimihurura-Rugando, Kigali, Rwanda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 32 hotels in Kigali
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Lemigo hotel is situated about 15min from airport, located on the top of many hills in Kigali. On the road from airport just look out from organized hotel transportation outside and try to find garbage on the street. City and probably whole urban part of country are the cleanliness on the world (except Singapore of course) thanks to Rwanda President who gives with his personal act of cleaning city sample to all citizens what to do. You will notice immediately that existing good security in hotel, extraordinary kind and helpful all staff in hotel. Just left from entrance there is construction area of future new wing of existing hotel, but there is no noise and any disturbance for your stay. you will also notice during whole day some activities in various halls like training courses, wedding ceremonies... and hotel is very popular to various organization in Rwanda and locals. I am sure when new wing will be open and after reconstruction of this existing one it will be the best 4 business star hotel in Rwanda (I hope 5 stars) Quality of food is excellent, service of staff, too. Rooms are nice, remarks for smell in bathroom, cheap Chinese plastic table lamp in strange colors that not fits to rooms, cord for kettler is so short so you have to place it on ground to boil the water. Hotel staff, manager, even CEO are always ready to listen you with your suggestion and comments closed with fact how to improve quality of service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
6
12
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Upon arrival at the Lemigo hotel, I realized I made a mistake. The receptionist was obnoxious and very arrogant and immediately made me feel unwelcome. We walked a long distance to our room only to realize that the key was not working. The staff promised to fix this but after four times of walking back and forth, it was still not working. The room was clean but very impersonal. The breakfast was inedible and much worse than food at hotels of a similar prize. I will never stay at that hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Lemigo is a medium sized hotel small enough that after a day or two staff know you personally and big enough to have all main hotel facilities.The buffet breakfast was simple but main cooked choices rotate day by day so not boring.Rooms comfortable although a little dated and everything worked fine.Good value for money.Since kigali is a safe city to walk around the relative lack of choice for dinner at lemigo was not a problem as theres plenty of restaurant choices nearby.If i return to kigali lemigo would be first choice to stay.

Room Tip: Get a roon overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curepipe
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had a pleasant stay. Nice little hotel with staff really taking good care of you. Rooms are comfortable. Bathroom was small, a bit old and needed a little bit of maintainance.

Not too much choice on the menu for dinner but there are quite of few good restaurants to eat out in Kigali so this was not really an issue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at Lemigo hotel whilst attending a conference. As a wheelchair user, the hotel was not great for access, however, the staff were always willing to help. The room I slept in was spacious and comfortable although rather dim lighting. The food in the restaurant was rather pricey though.

Overall, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I will agree with other reviewers that the Lemigo is not a "conventional" four star hotel, but then I think its fair to say that in Kigali one has to be flexible and open minded in judging a hotel that tries to cater to clientele that are accustomed to upscale/business lodgings. The hotel and its grounds are not spectacular or breathtaking, but the hotel does seem very secure and I am sure given its proximity to Parliament, the airport, and government buildings that the clientele is quite varied and is more interested in location than being surrounded by a plethora of creature comforts.

My first impression was that the hotel was not near much urban life. It turns out the quiet ambience of the hotel in an asset as I found the hotel to be quiet and almost sleepy at times. The staff were excellent and very attentive to my needs from check-in to check-out. The room was plenty large and though of course it was not decorated to the tightly coordinated standards of a "conventional/big name" four star hotel, the room was spacious, comfortable, and with the pleasant temperatures prevailing outside the use of the air conditioner was not even necessary. I found the wifi signal to be fine for all uses (i did not stream any video for the sake of disclosure). Nor did I ever use the TV, so I can't attest to the range of offerings available. But given the room's main purpose of enabling sleep and rest, I was very content and I received a good night's rest. The bathroom was a bit spartan and dark, but on cue there was hot water.

My party did not eat at the hotel, but the front desk was able to easily find us a nearby restaurant and accompanying reservation. Afterwards, a few of us had beers at the terrace bar whilst enjoying the cool evening air. The wait staff were patient and very polite.

I didn't use the hotel's gym, but I popped in to take a look and the facilities looked adequate for getting a workout in. There was a decent mix of older cardio equipment with some free weights mixed in as well too. Only complaint was the gym area was a bit dark as it's on the ground floor and there is a lack of natural sunlight available. The pool was too chilly for my threshold of comfort. When warmer weather prevails there is a swim-up bar so a cool Tusker can be enjoyed while relaxing in the pool.

For exercise I took a leisurely walk from the hotel up to the main road and then I walked down Embassy Row to large traffic intersection in front of the US Embassy. Along the way, I passed some small grocery shops and a few restaurants. The area struck me as very safe and secure given the amount of offices of NGOs and government offices in the vicinity. I'd recommend getting out of the hotel for exercise and for some nice vista views of the surrounding urban area and hills.

I would definitely return to the Lemigo again. The hospitality was genuine and caring. The hotel was very clean and orderly and I warmed up to the locale after taking a little time to explore the area on foot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I lodged in this hotel the first week of December 2012 and stayed for two weeks. I checked in around 3am local time and the staff were on hand to give a quick check-in. They were very courteous, friendly and helpful in my quest to recover my lost ipad in the plane. The hotel was very secured and service was excellent. The internet was down when I came in but was restored before I came back from business activities on my first day and was up till I left. The rooms were spacious enough for two occupants and access card controlled. There was also over-head mosquito netting to guard against insect bites. There is no doubt that the hotel met the expectations of many judging by the number of guests I noticed arriving on daily basis during my stay there. The only area I observed for further enhancement was the Fitness Centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lemigo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemigo Hotel

Address: PO Box 2770 | Kimihurura-Rugando, Kigali, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemigo Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Lemigo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemigo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.