We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired top tower” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Top Tower Hotel Kigali

Save Saved
You added Top Tower Hotel Kigali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Top Tower Hotel Kigali
Umuganda Boulevard, Kigali, Rwanda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 32 hotels in Kigali
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tired top tower”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Good location but very dated interior. Huge rooms but air on iffy, shower one of the plastic boxes and casino crowd make it all a little seedy. Saying that friendly staff who seem a little embarrassed about what's on offer but willing to help. Good location for getting around.

Room Tip: All rooms huge and all have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
1
5
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Overpriced and dreadful in summary.

Appears to be a converted office block. Worst thing is there is no hot water whatsoever. There is not even a hot tap in the sink. The shower was not even tepid it was freezing cold. The food was dreadful and they did not even have most things on the very limited menu. No napkins at breakfast which was very poor - juice was poor quality and disgusting - not what you expect for what they charge.

No remote for the television. Noisy empty fridge in the room. Air conditioning noisy and ineffective for such a big room with large windows and was held together with sticking tape. Curtains hanging off and did not cover the windows properly.

Management notable by its absence.

The staff seemed underpaid and undertrained. I suspect there is a lot of fraud as they said the printers don't work and so you were unable to charge anything to your room.

I would recommend the Umubano just down the road which seemed much nicer in comparison.

I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We needed a nice hotel for a few days to relax in after a hard month traveling. The reviews for this place were mixed, but I took them with a grain of salt. Glad I did. This may not rate a full 4-star rating as advertised, but apparently it did at one time. It is a touch of Faded Glory dusted off for today.
The rooms are big, showers are hot and full, fixtures are all modern. You can see signs of tarnish in the walls and carpet, but upkeep is ongoing. The beds are hard, not the soft comforting mattresses I was hoping for, but that's nothing unusual here. The floor-to-ceiling, wall-to-wall glass wall overlooking the city is it's biggest plus. Great view. And the over-sized rooms make you feel comfortable, especially if you're used to bunking up in shoebox-sized hotel rooms.
Food is okay, nothing stunning, but there are many better restaurants around to make up for it. Breakfast left much to be desired, but we didn't come for the breakfast.
At $155/night, it was okay. I was expecting a little bit more for the money, but it was sufficient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Disgusting! I was booked in here for a business trip and was shocked to see the hotel and rooms are nothing like the website photos. There was damp in the room, paint peeling off ceiling. Only 2 lamps in a huge room, no ceiling lights so room is dark, Toilet smells like a public bathroom. There is nothing Luxury about this place, even if the hotel website says so and definitely not worth $120. I checked in and 20 mins later checked out and moved to the Umubano hotel down the road. Can't compare!!!

Room Tip: Only tip... find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent nearly a week in this hotel and the only plus was the helpful, friendly, and largely efficient staff. Apart from that, there is NO hot water so cold showers all around. We paid a substantial amount for our room but not only did the shower not work (despite several complaints), but nor did the airconditioning. Everything is run down - the mini fridge (no bar to speak of) was empty of everything but ice and unidentified scum. The bathroom sink was smeared with grease; even the glasses in the bathroom had toothpaste stains. The bed was comfortable but the linen was stained and had holes in; so too the towels. Even the carpet was dulled by the sun and other marks; when we arrived it had not even been properly vacuumed. These kind of standards might work in a cheap backpackers but in a three star hotel charging high rates, this is not acceptable. Avoid at all costs! As we found out after we left, there are plenty of other great hotels and B&Bs in this wonderful city.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteltoptower, General Manager at Top Tower Hotel Kigali, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear AussieVisitor123,

Thank you very much for providing constructive feedback regarding your stay with us.

We regret for the inconvenience caused by assigning you a room that was not ready.

We are sorry that you felt the staff didn’t acknowledge and resolve the issue; obviously something went really wrong and we were unable to be aware it on time and correct it.

Comments such as yours help us identify shortfalls in services provided and assist us to plan and correct future mistakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

pro's:
- friendly staff eager to please and help out
- spacious rooms
- food fair to excellent
- housekeeping/cleaning very good
- good air conditioning (when it works - mine was fine recently)
- bed was comfy
- many rooms have views
- top floor bar
con's
- more than well worn - desperately needs a fix up (it's like the hotel that forgot maintenance)
- eager staff can't always fix things
- wifi erratic and a hassle - though consistently OK in lobby area
- very odd layout (perhaps designed as office building?)
- no outside space for dinning or relaxing
- bathrooms oddly small compared to room sizes

Tips:
- make sure the a/c in your room is working before you unpack
- hot water in most baths has a heater that must be switched on (over toilet) otherwise cold shower
- ask for custom eggs or omelette at breakfast - omelettes very good
- Cafe Magda in rear of office building diagonally across street - very good food, fab espresso and decent wifi - nice people!
- if in Kigali more than a few days consider bring/buying usb cell modem and buy local sim - got package including usb modem 5gb data for about $45 usd from MTN - pretty zippy

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Booking into our room was very easy and reception staff were nice, however, after getting our corner room the disappointment starts. It was about 40 degrees in the room and the air con did not work, there is no mini bar as stated (there is a mini fridge) and really it's just a great big massive boring room. The windows are tacked with some sort of ugly plastic and a few windows open but not very much and the curtains are in need of attention. Would have thought for a "luxury" hotel, they'd have a swimming pool...my fault for not checking though. The heat was too much in that room, so we asked to be moved. The second room was even worse. Dirty floors, someone else's floss stuck to my foot (disgusting), equally as hot if not worse, although, air con was better if you sat under it, no pillow cases on the bed so yellow stained pillows on display, enough to make anyone uneasy about a hotel. Rang reception half hour ago but nothing yet. Ordered lunch in the crystal bar and the guy named Innocent was wonderful, although from the menu the only thing we could order was a club sandwich. We have had cold showers just waiting for the casino to open so we can win our US $320 back and leave.
I have been in Tanzania volunteering in an orphanage for 2 months, I am not a bad person. I really just wanted somewhere nice to enjoy with a hint of luxury for 2 nights and at US$160 a night, I thought i would get that here. So disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteltoptower, General Manager at Top Tower Hotel Kigali, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Mrs. Stapleton,

Thank you very much for providing constructive feedback regarding your stay with us.

We deeply regret the issues you experienced. Albeit the Hotel was fully booked, you should have not been assigned a room that was not ready, as it is among those we are currently re-modeling. We are sorry that you felt the staff didn’t acknowledge and resolve the issue; we will review our internal procedures so this doesn’t happen again in the future.

As stated in the email we sent you on the day you left, we thank you for pointing out various improvement areas in your comments. Comments such as yours help us identify shortfalls in services provided and assist us to plan and correct future mistakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Top Tower Hotel Kigali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Tower Hotel Kigali

Address: Umuganda Boulevard, Kigali, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Top Tower Hotel Kigali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top Tower Hotel Kigali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.